Help restore an 120 year old house in the center of Pola de Allande on the Camino Primitivo, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 759 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    85  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Happy holidays Workawayers,

    Project on hold until January 2021.

    I bought this house in December 2019 in the center of Pola de Allande. I need help making it look nice again. This village and home is on the Camino Primitivo, so it’s a good place to take a break if you are doing the Camino or plan to do so.

    The older references you see are of my former place, it was a bed & breakfast in the Tigre Delta nearby Buenos Aires in Argentina. I am used to having volunteers.

    I am specifically needing a skilled individual/individuals with construction, masonry, carpentry, flooring, electricity and gardening.

    The house is a historic part of this village and has been here around 120 years. There are three floors and an attic space. The First floor is finished, has three bedrooms, the kitchen and main bathroom. The second floor has three more bedrooms and a bathroom. The ground floor is being completely redone from scratch.

    The garden project is still open for development. Winter gardening and preparation for the spring is welcomed. I have planted some trees and grass. I want to construct and create a proper garden and patio. There is a river that runs straight through the middle of town and is directly in my backyard next to the garden space. The garden has southern exposure and is a very relaxing work environment.

    If you are artistic, I am looking for someone to paint murals.

    It is a great place to access nature and the backcountry. There are beautiful views from both sides of the house into the surrounding mountains, river and village, as well, roads and trails headed out in all directions.

    Although the village is small, under 500 inhabitants, it is well equipped, we have: 3 small supermarkets, 8 (yes really!) cafe/bars/restaurants, 3 do it yourself stores, a bakery, a butchery, small medical center, public cyberpub(I have great wifi at home), 4 hairdressers!, a library, a bookstore and even a swimming pool in summer.

    I will provide the food. Meals and food are vegetarian most of the time. If we (or some) want to eat meat, the idea is to share the cost.

    The winter months here are very much a personal retreat setting, a quiet refuge. Spiritual diversity is embraced and practices such as Yoga and meditation are welcomed.

    Cheers,
    Stef

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Practice languages, I am fluent in Spanish and English, and comfortable in German and French, native Dutch. It’s a nice village where you can talk to the people, they’re friendly and often have time to chat. Recently, I had people from 7 different countries at the same time. The surrounding villages and landscapes are Asturian gems, absolutely brilliant old Spain.

  • Help

    Help

    Depends a bit of the moment.
    I am doing all kinds of small repairs and upgrading. For this winter, I need someone highly skilled in construction and electrical work.

    If you have your own ideas and are savvy in the garden, perfect.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are several rooms with beds, so take your pick! If you are a couple you’ll be cozy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    To reach Pola de Allande, you can take a bus from Oviedo or Gijion to Cangas de Narcea. On weekends there’s only one bus leaving Oviedo around 09.00 and arriving arriving around 11.30. I can pick you up in Cangas.

    Some volunteers come and go hitchhiking, which works most of the time but can be slow in old Spain.

    I am flexible with the hours you put in as long as you are responsible and contribute. I can give suggestions about what you could do, but I really like people to work independently. If you want to relax some day, go for a hike, or study (spanish), no problem.

    Apart from the Camino primitivo long distance trek, there are many short day hikes you can do, starting from Pola itself or some place nearby. I have books at my place you can read, there is a library. In the evenings we sometimes make a fire in the garden, chill, talk, play games, have fun, dance, sing, watch movies or go out for a drink at one of the bars. It’s a high quality of life, for sure.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have good working wifi. Work hours are flexible at my place.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is a big parking space around the corner, you can see the vehicle from the windows. Many volunteers have already visited and helped who live the van life.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs and cats are welcome. I would be happy to have them around.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    some hours per day, flexible, max 25 hours a week with 2 days off

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

























































Host ref number: 288976965137