Come and help with our garden in the Pyrenees, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 105 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are two writers who live in an old cottage on the edge of a small ridgetop village within half an hour's drive of the Pyrenees. Our lifestyle is as eco as we can make it. We mainly need help with gardening, decorating, furniture painting and organising our garage. Help in the kitchen is also appreciated. We are ovo-vegan and eat predominately organic food. The atmosphere is informal, creative and laid-back. We have recently moved and are very busy with our established and productive garden which we're currently endeavouring to get under controll Our writing activities are therefore on hold for the time being. We have three cats - Visa, Baby and, Pepe. Then there's Monty our adorable young dog who we rescued from living in a ditch. Originally from the UK, we both speak French and Leaf is fluent in Spanish, Sue has some German.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A stay with us is particularly helpful for English and non-English speakers as Leaf was a teacher in Spain and Sue's french is very good. We are willing to speak French if required. Those who enjoy cooking and would like to learn more about vegan cooking, will enjoy spending time in the kitchen with Sue. We love lively discussion on a wide range of subjects and helpers have commented on the evenings spent debating. From a cultural point of view, Sue has lived in France for 30 years and is well integrated into the French way of life. Our small art studio is a great place for those who enjoy creative activities.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like help with strimming as well as weeding and tidying the courtyard and garden. Some general help in the house would also be appreciated and we have furniture that needs painting.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English,French,Spanish and a little German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A small gite attached to the main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is much to see locally and we are happy to show helpers around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 daily for 5 days a week to be arranged according to weather













Host ref number: 287954817944