Helping hands needed on a permaculture smallholding in Bretagne, rural France.



updated   Last minute

Favourited 1437 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We (Phil and Helen) have lived on our 6 hectare smallholding in a very quiet village in the middle of Brittany for the last 25 years.
    We were self sufficient for a large part of the time whilst seeing our family grow up and even becoming grandparents recently. Now Helen also runs the village shop/bar/cafe.
    We now have a brand new project in renovation of our old farmhouse.
    At the farm we still have chickens, sheep, a dog, cats and now and then a pig for the freezer.
    Part of our land is a forest garden alongside a large polytunnel, whilst the rest is wetland, there is also a huge oak tree on the property that is over 9 metres circumference and is in guide books as an 'arbre remarquable.
    we are looking for dynamic helpers wanting to expand their knowledge of;
    Rural life
    Permaculture gardening
    Woodland skills
    Pond ecosystems
    Basic construction and renovation
    Recycling and upcycling
    Food and drink

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    How could you not benefit from the Breton way of living?- simple but honest, we have certainly learnt a better way of living and sharing since moving here and raising our family.

  • Help


    Workawayers help from 8.30 until around 13h00,and then afternoon is free time.
    The help can be physically demanding as sometimes learning new skills is challenging.
    We take good care of you but would also appreciate a hand with the daily chores like the dishes, sweeping up etc.
    You may need to bring old clothes, strong shoes,and work gloves.

    Please--- No princesses or drama Queens. ---Thank you

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, little German

  • Accommodation


    3 bedroomed farmhouse currently under renovation
    OR the cabin in the garden (see profile photo)
    We expect you to take care of your accomodation and leave it in a clean and tidy state for the next people staying.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lovely quiet area , easy to travel hitching.
    unspoilt by tourism and very rural.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.0)

Host ref number: 155446366351