Join our family in the countryside close to the French Alps, France

Country

France

updated   Last minute

Favourited 101 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! we are 6 peoples (between 21 and 45 years old, and one or two children depending on the moments), we all live in a big house in the country close to the French Alps. Near Chasselay Isere
    Anne is a hiking guide and kinésiologist.
    Hugo is a electronics engineer and takes care of a few sheeps - and his sheepdog Ottis
    Their Dynamic son Florimont is living with us full time
    Gaël is about to start herborist studies
    Maxim has arrived by workaway after several places, and is now a permanent member of the house. He is learning carpentry.

    We have a few animals : dogs, cats and sheeps. And now chickens !

    We live in the countryside, and we try to be selfsufficient for vegetables and, in the future maybe, fruits 😃, that's some work in the garden! We try to include more and more permaculture by the time. We have separate activities but we share meals and try to manage the garden, house activities and chores. So it's not a community life, nor exactly a colocation, something in between 😃

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a good place to hike in the hills, close to the mountains Vercors.
    We can exchange about hiking, kinesiology, organic gardening, breeding sheep, bicycle, building...

    It's far from town, but there is often someone to go to St Marcellin, or even sometimes Grenoble, and we can drive with you to the mountains for a hike together

  • Help

    Help

    All year long, we need help with organic Gardening: we grow potatoes, zucchinis, carots, tomatoes, beans, onions, cabbages, leeks, squashes, turnips, radishes, parsnip, carrots... and DIY garden improvments; weeding is also often necessary. There may be some holes to dig for planting new trees, vegetables and fruits to harvest and prepare…

    Help in the garden is our main need, it may be tiring and it needs a little motivation to dirty your hands 😀 As for other kind of help:

    Help with the sheeps - and fencing for those motivated 😃

    Help for general maintenance of the house,
    Even if you are not the cook of the day, it's nice to give some help for cooking,
    and also to help keep the house clean

    And sometimes, babysitting our son Florimond when we need to work. He's turning 4yo. One of his big interests is music, so someone who could accompany him in some (really beginning) pratice would be great. He begins to have an ear for English, and it's nice if he can develop language skills with you

    Maybe 1-2 collective mornings of wood gathering and cutting for the fireplace.

    NB : from mid-spring to end summer, depending on the temperature, we prefer to work outside early in the morning and at the end of the afternoon

    We are happy to host you 2 weeks first, see how it goes, how you like helping us and also how you feel with us... and talk about more. We also like people to stay about the time we decided together, If they feel good of course and expect emergencies

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a big home (on the picture) with 6 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms. The workawayer will have his own room. Kitchens, bathrooms, salon are collective
    For one who'd want to play, we have a small electrical keyboard and a guitar.

    We like to cook good and organic food, and we eat all together. We will offer the food to the workawayer. If she or he sometimes wants to cook, it will be welcome - and usually all present persons take their share in preparing meals. We will be happy to learn new recipes!

    Workawayers (especially for long stay) are also expected to take part in usual little household chores like cleaning and cooking, like each housemate does. For us it seems natural.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please note that we are near Chasselay in the Isère department (zip code 38470), NOT the Chasselay close to Lyon 😃

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 247326418664