Come and help us with creating the Retreat in Rotorua, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 321 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    41  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Kia ora ra. I live in Rotorua having completed my home renovation. I have 1 dog, Myrtle the Red Heeler. I am with He Tuatoatanga, the Maori Spiritual Warrior School which is my past my present and my future.

    Here, I am in the thick of my Maori community. These are my grandmother's people and mine. A very loving and caring community with hearts that are open to the world. As it should be.

    I need help right now with some pruning, building, setting up gardens, track cutting. Some painting and restoring a bit of furniture. It's a very relaxed pace. I can give you a list of tasks and then leave you to it at your own pace. You will be embraced by my Maori family who often pop in and invite us out to share their lives.

    Please come with the understanding of the commitment I have towards your journey and comfort and appreciation of your much needed help and accordingly please ensure your commitment to this exchange is fully understood by yourself. All meals are provided and generously so.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is the land of my people, Te Arawa. Whilst you are here, you will be embraced by my family who will also include you in many of our outings. During our outings please do not ask family or friends for cigarettes or alchohol. Sorry to state this, but I consider it rude manners and unfortunately it has been my experience.

  • Help

    Help

    Having just moved into town, there's a few jobs that come to mind - organising, keeping the lawns mowed and garden and weeds at bay. Making friends with Myrtle who's very friendly and knows how to get around new friends. Your challenge is to see if you can succeed in taking her outside across into the Redwoods for a walk, without me.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Warm cosy house. Although shortly it will be in a caravan for sleeping and inside the house for living .....

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    TIME OFF? Work work work. Haha it's a joke! I have a mountain bike you can explore the area on. Take the dogs for walks in the forest at the foothills of Matawhaura. Swim in the lake. Bike to the hot pools. Explore and absorb The Nature. If you have a validated licence, then my vehicle can drive us to the beach and back!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

My sacred mountain, Matawhaura
Matawhaura, my sacred mountain. Come climb with me and meditate in the beauty of Tane Mahuta. Learn the ways of Nature and how to acknowledge and respect Her. Papatuanuku.
View of Lake Rotoiti from my caravan
WakaTapu, sailing on a traditional Maori Waka Hourua, twin hulled cat. Back in 2012, not now.
The magnificence of Tane Mahuta, the Tree God
Celestial navigation

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)






























Host ref number: 281558131939