Help us with land maintenance, animals, garden and more in Coimbra and Center, Portugal



Favourited 592 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    74.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are David & Eli, a Belgium couple and since 2014 we live and work on our 12 hectare beautiful land with view on the Serra da Estrellla mountains.
    We have cats, dogs, chicken and goats and we have a big organic fruit and vegetable garden. We try to live a sustainable life and provide our essentials as much as possible from our own land, fruits, vegetables, eggs, milk, meat, wood, timber, water, ...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our land is privately located and a dirt track of 1km separates us from the outside world. You can experience being in full nature enjoying the peace and silence. We have no direct neigbours but we are located between 4 small typical portugees villages on walking distance, each with a tiny grocery store and a local bar where the locals meet for coffe and social company. They are always very pleased and exited to see strangers coming by!
    We are located about a one hour drive to the top of the Serra da Estrella mountains and the way to it leads you through beautiful and exiting places.
    You will experience daily life in rural, central Portugal, and learn what it takes to maintain and run a farm on a 12 hectare land.

  • Help


    We are generally looking for volunteers to help us with the maintenance of the land, the animals, the garden, the household, building and all round projects.

    The land is partly open, terraced and partly forest. The main part of our forest has burnt in a forest fire in 2017. The main part of the burnt forest has been cut, but there's still quite some wood to be processed. We are giving the native trees and vegetation a chance to regenerate. We often need some strong and energetic people with a good physical condition to help us out on the land, cutting wood, processing and stacking firewood, clearing heavy vegetation, making fires, cutting grass, etc...

    The animals, the garden, the kitchen and household also ask a lot of our daily effort. In this area we are looking for help in feeding the animals, milking the goats, cleaning stables, planting, watering, weeding, and harvesting, cooking and washing up and some general household tasks. Experiences are not required but doing the tasks with a smile and a good attitude are a must!

    Are you a DIY enthusiast, and do you have some experience with woodwork/ carpentry we will certainly have some nice creative tasks for you! A lot of our burnt trees have been cut into nice timber to do some building and constructing...
    Or are you confident with plumbing or have you any experience as an electrician?... that could be very useful as well...

    The help needed is usually very divers and often depends on the season, different things to do in different times of the year... and of course we try to take in account the interests and qualities of our volunteers.


    We are mainly looking for someone (or a duo) who would be able to stay for a longer period.
    The main tasks for this period will be taking over some of our basic routines on the farm, taking care of the animals, the garden and standing by in the household and general maintenance in and around the house:
    - Milking the goats and feeding the chickens.
    - Bringing our 12 goats out for grazing: 2x per day
    - Watering and weeding the garden.
    - General help in the household: cooking, washing up and cleaning in and around the house.

    If this sounds like something for you and you would like to be part of our farm and family during the coming summer months AND you are available for a longer time, be welcome to write us a message.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    We have caravans for our volunteers to sleep and in our community area our volunteers can cook and eat together.
    Sheets and blankets are provided and we have a comfortable bathroom (heated in winter) with hot water, shower and toilet.
    Daily tasks like cooking, washing up and keeping our community area clean and tidy are shared responsibilities and we expect everyone to cooperate in these things.
    We try to find a good balance between cooking and eating together but expect our volunteers to be able to take care for themselves from time to time (but then of course we provide the essential ingredients).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We offer our volunteers food and accommodation in exchange for help on our farm. We are not very strict in counting the hours per day you help out but appreciate our volunteers to be flexible too. Some helping days will be longer and harder than others and we regularly build in days of rest depending on everyone's needs!
    We are open minded and try to divide the tasks depending on our helpers experiences and capacities. So it's important to us to get a little information about who you are, why you would like to join us and what you expect of your experience on our farm!
    We are looking forward to meet motivated people who are open for adventure!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The mobile reception is very good on the land so people who bring their own hotspot can work online... Our wi-fi only works around our house and doesn't reach our accommodations.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    People traveling with their own home on wheels are always more than welcome! The access to our land is by a long sand track but even medium to large vehicles can easily get here. We have a camper spot with water and electrics and have hot shower and toilets.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Only well behaved pets can run free on the land. We have dogs, cats, goats and chicken and we don't accept other animals chasing them! Also realize our land is big and sometimes the work locates far from the accommodation and pets have to stay home as the help involves machinery!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Flexibility is appreciated! With a average of 5hours a day, 5 days a week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 273471242932