Join our happy family and explore countryside life in Cooks Creek, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 56 times
  • Last activity: 25/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    WELCOME to our family! We are a fun family of 4 and our home is located in a good rural neighbourhood, a 20 minute drive to Winnipeg.

    We can host one Workawayer at a time, ( or a couple or 2 friends in same room/bed or small family (summer months)). In summer months 2. We enjoy traveling and meeting new people from different cultures and backgrounds. We have had many exchange students and have travelled plenty ourselves. My eldest daughter spent time in Scotland until Covid hit, also using Workaway. Therefore we are savvy with how this works from both a host and workers perspective! We are open to all beliefs, genders and colours! As long as you have a story to share, a love of life, strong work ethic and a sense of humor, you will fit in perfectly. This is a house that enjoys people and we have fun gatherings!

    Most diets can be accommodated as we are very familiar with vegan and gluten free however please be prepared to cook your own meals if you have dietary restrictions.

    We have dogs, cats, goat, chickens, ducks and rabbits on our 5 acre little hobby farm. They all love an abundance of attention so you're welcome to shower them with love and attention at all times:) We do have three big dogs, so you would need to be comfortable around large animals. They are lovely and equal to giant teddy bears.

    We all speak English and 3 of us also speak French and 2 of us very basic Spanish. So if improving your English is something you’d like to do, or learn a new language, this is a great home for that!

    We are really excited to be hosting visitors and welcoming new guests into our crazy family. We have a minimum three week stay. We enjoy hearing about your day, your travels, experience and life, and would like a guest that will join us in good conversation. We are not a hotel or hostel, but a welcoming family home. We would like you to spend time in conversation outside of your working hours and join us in occasional meals and events when possible but you'll also be provided with much free private time throughout your days. We understand that it is important for solitude! Or maybe you’d like to take some time to relax in our hammock village? Also, we ask that while working your hours, you pay little attention to your phone. There are appropriate times for that and we trust you to be the judge of when :) treat it like you would at a normal work environment!

    Working days will typically start by 09:30am, so if you need beauty sleep until 12:00 ... this wont work ;)

    Some examples of different things workawayers have helped with - organic gardening from start to finish, painting, mowing lawn, pulling weeds, animal care, cleaning barns, landscaping, website help, housecleaning, splitting wood, stacking wood, small repairs, tree planting, baking and more!

    You should have a positive outlook on life and be able to work and complete the majority of tasks with energy and efficiency. You should be able to self manage, prioritize, and keep track of what you have done. It would be good if you could manage your schedule and keep track of your hours so that you can balance enjoying your travel with the work commitment here. We are busy working as well and may forget to keep track of your hours! You’re a volunteer and came to this country to explore and travel, we understand that! As we are working, and going to school, some of the workaway hours may be scheduled on the weekend, and a few on one or two weeknights - but you can still schedule off two days without work, example Fri&Sat or Sun&Mon. 

    We ask for a commitment of 25 hours of help per week per person.

    We are non-smokers so we request that you are also a non-smoker or smoke in designated area only.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would like to introduce you to our city, culture, and activities nearby. We are looking for someone who wants to join us in family activities and outings when there is an opportunity to do so. On some weekends during the spring and fall there may be an opportunity for tasks (or off time) at our trailer on Lake Winnipeg. This is a beautiful area known for boating, fishing and also has a nice beach. If we go there one of us will drive you there and back.

    Our family has many interests and we are happy to include you if you are interested to join us - such as: dancing, hiking/walks, music festivals, beaches, markets, fishing, museums, cultural festivals, biking and more.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Let us know what skills you bring- can you Cook? Clean well? Garden? Do construction? Animal care? Other? Not everyone is suited to all types of tasks and together we will decide what is best for you. Depending on your skill set we will send a more detailed outline of possible duties after you contact us. 

    The tasks here may include help with lawn care, gardening, chopping wood, animal care, some small home improvement tasks such as painting, general construction, yard clean up, organizing and cleaning around the house, plant care. Also, there will be daily and weekly cleaning tasks of bathrooms, kitchen, living areas.

    Come spring/summerwe will need help with small gardens, weed control, chopping wood, building fence,building wood shed, tree planting, yard and landscape work.

    Winter - shoveling, fire maintenance, chopping wood

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom space in basement of our home that only you use but the rest of the house and two bathrooms are shared. Evening meals are often eaten together with the family. Otherwise, the fridge and pantry are well stocked so you can prepare what you like. We will do the grocery shopping and provide food to eat while you are in the house - on days you work.

    Warmer months (april/may- oct) we have a large camping trailer complete with kitchen that is used to host our workaways. Providing you with more privacy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 5 minute driving distance to beach, hiking, church, skating. 10 min drive to small town with grocery store, bank, restaurants. 20 minute drive to Winnipeg.
    We can offer ride to city once or twice per week as long as arranged in advance and may also be able to lend you a vehicle to make quick commute

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have space to accommodate motorhome/ camper on our property.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We would consider hosting folks that are traveling with pets however must be discussed first as we do have many of our own animals.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week per person

Host ref number: 622218333411

Feedback (2)



Photos

Feedback




Enjoy island life and help with renos in Salt Spring Island, Canada
Live and learn alongside Canadian family and help with babysitting in Ontario, Canada