Help us Build and Design our House and Garden in the jungle, Cancun, Mexico

Country

Mexico

new host  

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello travelers! Perla and Alex here, we are a copule who just got an Acre in the Cancun Jungle (5000 sm2) 30 minutes away from downtown and 20-25 minutes away from the beach. We go to downtown (almost) every day.

    Me (Perla) have an Organic Soap & Skincare project based on Aromatherapy and Herbology. I have a passion for languages and other cultures. Have been in Guatemala, Cuba, lived in Europe, Japan, roadtripped USA & Canada. My hobbies are beekeping, fermenting, perfumery, Alchemy, Pottery and of course gardening. I like clean environments and i clean my surrounding area from garbage unconscious people throw. We also are fire guardians of the area and we succeeded in suffocate a closeby fire near a virgin patch of jungle.

    Alex is Medical Dentist and theaches at the University his hobbies are drums & music, wine and beer brewing. Hes a DIY guy. He enjoys philosophical and scientific conversations, politics, religion and art.

    We love traveling the world and we both lived in France, (nous parlons Francais) Spanish and English, we love alternative mindsets, off grid, selfsustainable ideas, Gardening medicinal plants. We were workawayers ourselves the years 2016 and 2017, we got a vintage trailer home ficha de renovated and we pulled our house wherever we went. we volunteered in organic goat farm, lavender farm, cannabis farm, permaculture farm, so plenty of good stories to share. We can say we met increíble people and made friends for life. Looking to Build our house, a geodesic dome for visitors, outdoor kitchen and a natural pool (cenote).

    We do fermenting of beer, wine, sauerkraut, kombucha and want to build the Fermentatio room

    We have a couple of Beehives and do care for the bees compasionately. We harvest honey only once a year 1 or 2 frames and let them be.

    We are mushroom enthusiasts and have studied and grown Oyster and Reishi successfully. We hace been inoculating and Want to inoculate the jungle to harvest more in the rain season.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Beautiful Beaches, Mangroves, cenotes, lagoons, you name it. lot of warm sunny days most of the year.
    We speack Spanish, English and French fluently.
    You'll enjoy of sleeping surrounded by jungle and birds. not (so) close neighbors, if you like privacy, solitude, Meditation, Nature youll enjoy it.

    And if you need the other social side, All the nithglife, cuilinaire, etc Cancun can offer is there for you.
    We have 2 kayaks you could use (if you have a car is better)
    We live 2 km from the nearer Public Transport (or we go to downtown everyday and could give you a Ride after your work)

    We love to cook mexican and world food, we have an outdoors kitchen which we are building every time more and more but we need help!

    Nearer "town" is 3 km away and you could go by bike (which we will soon buy) so basic groceries, vegetables and some prepared food is available.

    You could also learn soapmaking, herbology and skincare at mi studio in exchange for some help.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a Couple or 2 volunteers. Máximo of 3.

    We need help in watering and nurturing the edible garden and keeping an eye on it as it grows so everything thrives. We need help in creating an irrigation and drip system so everything gets watered automatically and keeping water waste at minimum.

    Collecting soil and leaves to use it to build raised beds and plant more edibles.
    Build a compost site is another task.

    Collect rocks. It will be used to build a perimetral wall and house construction. Is a very meditative task. Strong people is preffered.

    We migth Hire professional people to build things and you'd be assisting and supervising.

    Help for construction of an extra Vermicompost toilet, we already have one with an outdoor shower.

    Many skills are sougth after:
    Garden, Permaculture, Medicinal Plants care
    Masonery,
    Carpentery, experience in building Geodesic domes is a PLUS! We have 2 kinds of saw, a chainsaw, 2 different drills, lot of tools so you can practice and build stuff. *Care, attention, experience and common sense is needed to handle tools to avoid accidents or damaging of tools.*

    Cooking is a divine gift so lovers of cooking with love and passion, foodies and skilled chefs are super wellcomed to feed us as we are foodies ourselves. All kinds of delicious organic vegetables and salads is starting to grow in the garden.

    We need respectful, clean, comitted, proactive, skilfull, responsible, trustworthy, autonomous, critical thinkers, independent volunteers. Easy.

    Minimal stays of 3 weeks to 1 month as is time consuming to explain how everything works.

    Help in Picking garbage and taking it to the recycling facilities.

    Note: We live in a very rustic wild place. We dont have electricity but have solar panels with limited day charge capacity to lap tops. Cameras. Phones. Ipads etc.

    We have a water tank which we fill up from underground water with a electric generator, so water saving is important. We have a beautiful outdoor shower, vermicompost toilet, and 3-4 taps/hoses with running water wich we could connect more tube and bring water to your camping site if needed.

    Note we are new in this and we have everything to be build up.

    Fermentation is kept at minimal until we build our fermentation room hopefully with your help.

    Mooshrooming is preped for rainy season (sep.oct.nov.dec)

    You'll get the opportunity to help us build it and we will be honored.

    We are building a beautiful place as sustainable and natural as possible.

    HELP AT THE STUDIO IN DOWNTOWN CANCUN:
    I've been doing this for 7 years and everything is connected. You will learn to make soap, solid shampoo and other skincare goods based in Aromatherapy and Herbology so if Alchemy, Biochemistry, cosmetic formulation, Health, Ecology and Environmental Responsibility come help me.

    SOCIAL MEDIA MANAGEMENT AND MARKETING FOR MY ONLINE STORE, help me be more present in social media taking photos and video of my procesess and I cant formulate and record myself.

    PHOTOGRAPHY I also need some help with taking good photographs to publish. (Im photographer myself and have a Canon Eos Rebel.

    After your hours of help you can go to visit the beach, mangroves or simply go home early. Or go home together when i finish my work ( Around 7:00 or sometimes later if i have lot of work.

    Note also there is no AC (not even electricity) so working in the mornings is crucial to avoid extreme heat. Being in swiming suit migth be comfy so you shower a lot and keep fresh.

    Until we finish the Natural Pool...... 😍 which we already started.

    Mosquito season is july. Be prepared.

    No easy road here so you better be determined.
    Youll have fun and learn and experience a lot too.

    Thank you for reading all of it.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a big camping tent with Full matress for 2 and another tent with individual matress where you can sleep, or if you have your own welcome.

    We will offer basic food, fruits and veggies, rice, pasta, lentils, tortillas, beans, some canned goods, Eggs from the chickens and duck, and all the fresh produce the garden produces. We have more than 50 species of seeds to be planted. Meat is also part of the diet but not everydat. We try yo reduce the consumptuon as de are conscious of the origin and repercutions.

    If you have the skills you can build a couple of tables and chairs. We'll buy the materials. Or we have wood from fallen trees.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Cancun is a Mega Touristy place so lot of flow and people and interesting activities to do around. Lot of Mayan ruins and the culture is vast. plenty of recommendations once you are here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a rocked "paved" space where a bus size can park, surrounded by green jungle and beautiful huge trees and palms. magical spot there. We are also looking to adapt and arrange and "pretty up" that space . Fire pit can be made too.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes if is friendly, trained and obedient and it doesnt attack my chickens, duck and goes well along with my hairless Xoloitzcuintle Aztec Queen Maya. (and a couple street dog and cat adopted) Oh and of course if he/she doesnt invade the garden (sometimes they dig holes where there is fresh soil because is hot here) . Just to give you an idea, a rooster that was doing so with my baby plants was made a soup. :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 696316889842