Join us at our forest grove close to the beach on Galiano island, in British Columbia, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 232 times
  • Last activity: 26 Nov 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    You have to be completely awesome to stay here.

    Needed : HELP and company wanted. Cleaners, Gardners, trailbuilders
    Skilled Mechanics , welders , plumbers , carpenters, gourmet chef's brain surgons and rocket scientists are not required but can be included.
    I have skills in most of these areas (rocket science and brain surgery aside) and am up for safe coaching skills.

    I am an adventurer and inventor who knows how to live life.
    My work brings me around the world for product inspections as a garment tech, but I also do some graphic design, and product R&D across many fields.
    On the island I am known as Zeuss because there are far too many Daves haha.
    I love good food, music, and company.
    I am passionate, energetic and generally busy but the calm and peacefulness of staring at a fire, sunset or stars and sitting with good food and drink.
    I enjoy hard work and feel I am a patient communicator.
    My projects are many on the property from setting up water systems to building sheds , and trails.
    My projects on the boat are never ending cleaning and scrubbing to fibreglass and carpentry work to wiring and plumbing.

    Only accepting guests who are willing to stay 2 weeks or more. Due to difficulties aquiring food and supplies from off island and wanting to limit my laundry duties!

    Check out Galiano island !

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Helping me you have a pelthra of opportunity to work with and learn many skill sets ( how to be safe working around alternative energy like solar systems, plumbing use of tools and different skills on prep, instalation and maintenance, carpentry safe use of tools , fibreglassing safe use of tools and equipment , systems controls , composting, ect. I am a certified breathing air Technician and work with high voltage high pressure plumbing and currently in training as a first responder.

    Rather sporadic work schedule but always doing something interesting.

    Once a week or more I do a biodiversity cataloging dive , and regularly boating and in nature.

    Galiano island is awesome, travellers will benefit from the fresh air , peacefulness and serenity of the area we live in.

    Galiano island has many parks to wander; it is a short ferry ride from Vancouver and Victoria (on Vancouver island).

    Galiano island has 1400 colourful people. and offers many cultural community based activities including games night, soup and bread , pingpong and volleyball.
    Galiano has seven restaurants, four stores and miles of shoreline and forest trails.
    I am a former tour guide and can help you discover our beautiful province of British Columbia .

  • Help


    The boat, projects are cleaning, cooking, assisting in carpentry, plumbing, electrical and fibreglassing provided tou show the skills nessasary to do things safely and effecently most of these projects are done by my side.
    The property: building ,carpentry, jointery post and beam buildings, heavy duty mechanics to work on tractors backhoe, excavator and other machinery. Cleaners, cooks and sewers to help with the day to day. Yard work and maintenance like trail building and landscaping.
    Looking for some Strategic management and people who are good with seeing the big overall picture.
    You could also play live music while I work... bahahahahah ;)
    Hours are flexible, depending on the tasks being done. Not a slave driver but I like to see progress.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Lived in Shanghai, for many years.

  • Accommodation


    There is a trailer/caravan or a 1961 highway bus. There is currently an outdoor composting toilet and shower shed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My expectations for my guests will be to be social, help with projects around the property and boat, helping to keep things tidy and clean, I expect a good work ethic and to keep to a schedule.
    I am not a slave driver, (more of a slave diver) but love the drive the workaways have given me so far. Thanks to Toots, Kai, Sandra, Kenzo, Antoine, Alex, Adi,Jeff,Erin, Delphine, lauren, Keegan, Chris, Paulina, Moe, Justus, Clement and all the others ;) . <3
    This is a safe place , quiet and free of drama (unless we are playing charades)
    Not cool with racists, xenophobic, sexist folks smoking bothers me.
    My politics are non-dogmatic centrist and open-minded, try and change my mind:)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Solid WiFi, don't need any online help but your welcome to use the WiFi to do your business when your here.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    A Camper van could be accommodated

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Could consider workaways with pets provided they (dogs :) are kept on a leash as there is live stock close by. Also required to clean up their poop ! Aggressive dogs and workaways need not apply 😉.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 357671845251

Feedback (13)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)

Help develop a small permaculture project and garden near a river in Percé, Quebec, Canada
Help with housekeeping and meal prep at a floating fishing lodge on Baker Island, BC, Canada