Share a positive agricultural experience and gain field to table knowledge helping with the cattle in Saskatchewan, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 48 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    275

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    George and I (Marlene) ranch on 2500 acres of land. We have 250 animals in the winter and 500 during the summer months. Spring calving begins in April for a hectic two months where you can learn about the many adventures associated working with cows and calves. This includes administering medicine or, ear tagging calves for identification.
    Summer branding begin in May and we are part of the branding crew that attends branding on other ranches through to August with ours held in the beginning of July or earlier. Cows and heifers are separated into different pastures for July breeding to calve in April. Veterinary students will get a variety of opportunities to experience ranching at the grassroots level.
    Autumn brings cattle sorts and moving cattle to different pastures sometimes on horse back. Winter is slower and a time to rest after daily morning chores. Marlene is an award winning author specializing in aboriginal Elders stories. Winter is the time to make home made quilts and rag rugs from recycled clothing and cloth. Bannock is a household specialty a delicious aboriginal bread from Marlene's aboriginal background along with story telling and the chance to attend sweats on First Nation.. DIY projects include learning carpentry skills and working with various tools. Marlene can teach you English, sewing skills and always has an eco project planned.
    George manages the ranch and often attends auction sales, concerts, rodeos, pow wows and guests are encouraged to see all aspects of our wonderful life on the ranch. George is an avid reader and loves to hear about life abroad whether it is in the city or country. We also work back and forth with other ranchers so there is always plenty of opportunity to learn and meet new people.
    The opportunities to learn new skills, improve your English and expand your cultural learning is endless. There is plenty of wildlife on our land and sometimes on the doorstep. If you enjoy living life close to the land and nature in a safe and secure environmen or experience a cultural exchange of ideas and love animals; you will love it here. Each day is an adventure. Yet the busy day is offset by the peaceful and quiet serenity of sitting on the deck in the evenings in beautiful sunsets. You belong here if you can imaginer falling asleep to a coyote serenade

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Visitors can learn from George's vast experience and knowledge in agriculture and experience hands on learning with large animals. His goal is to share positive agricultural experience with youth to promote field to table knowledge.
    Marlene's Aboriginal background and knowledge is shared through the tradition of story telling and through events such as pow wows, dance, drumming sweats and gatherings to promote a better understanding of the cultural and historical background of Aboriginal peoples in Canada.

  • Help

    Help

    We work as a team so chores are varied and guests are encouraged to participate in family events. The main industry is cattle and there are chores such as feeding, fencing, building maintainence, summer branding, handling cattle in the chutes and corrals or tending a small garden. Guests will also travel with George and visit other farms and ranches in the area. There is plenty of recreation opportunities such as horse back riding, concerts, rodeos, pow wows.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers would occupy an upstairs bedroom two bedrooms to accommodate 2 guests.
    Visitors can access a deck that wraps the house. Please let me know if you have food allergies so we can provide the kind of food you need. Our lifestyle is busy, quiet and drug free. We do enjoy a cold beer after a branding but no excess. No perfumed products due to severe allergies.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a cat that thinks he is a dog, and a huge chocolate lab that thinks he is a puppy and won't hesitate to crawl in your lap. Visitors to other local ranches will gather for a social in a tiny village bar that holds steak night. Transportation is shared with other visitors and hosts have been known to join in the activities such as campfire, trail rides or gatherings. We've perfected the art of combining work with pleasure as life is always to be enjoyed. We live next to Meadow Lake Provincial Park with crystal clear lakes to enjoy water sports. We've hosted many students from around the world and can likely give you a reference from your country. Please join us for an experience that could change your life.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 per day / 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)




Host ref number: 268473386154