Welcome to our little mountain paradise and help us with some childcare in Berner Oberland, Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

new host  

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family: Elena (32yrs, original from Austria, Shiatsu and Ayurveda massage therapist / Yoga Teacher), Juval (32yrs original from the italian part of switzerland, graphic designer and entrepreneur in the vegan food industry) and Avidan (our adorable 2 years old son, comedian and showman by nature)
    We used to travel a lot, within europe, but also in asia and the northern american continent.
    Now we live in the pittoresque mountains of the Berner Oberland, outside a small mountain village.
    Surrounded by this amazing nature we try to manage our hectic businesses and family life as flexible and natural as possible.
    We are easy going people, we like to meet other people that are open minded and good by heart.
    We are vegetarian/vegan, but not dogmatic at all. Still we will not provide you with meat at our table. If you can´t live without it for a while, you will have to take care of this yourself.
    You will notice soon, food is a big topic in our house. We love to cook, we love to eat and we love good quality food.
    Another big topic in our life is body work and therapy. We live close to a body therapy center, called Kientalerhof. There are always a lot of interesting people coming and going, a lot of workshops, trainings and classes happening.
    If you are interested and find a course that you´d like to attend, I´m sure we will be able to schedule time for this in.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a multicultural family: Elena is half austrian, half greek. Juval is half swiss, half israeli. So both of us have a middle european background with mediterranean influences. You will find this especially in our kitchen ;)
    The area we live is a very traditional, typical swiss mountain landscape, with mainly cattle farms. We are not really part of this culture, but you will be able to experience swiss mountain life in its purest form.
    If your are into bodywork you will easily connect with people from Kientalerhof (body therapy school close by) and might get the chance to learn and exchange a lot with them.
    There are always a lot of interesting people coming and going, a lot of workshops, trainings and classes happening.
    If you are interested and find a course that you´d like to attend, I´m sure we will be able to schedule time for this in.

  • Help

    Help

    Basically we need a babysitter, so you need to be good with children and you should like spending time with them.
    You will not have to work at fix times or a certain amount of hours per day. But we need you to be flexible enough to jump in, when we need you.
    Juval has a lot of work to do outside the house, but also in his home office.
    Elena is working completely irregularly, having sometimes more and sometimes less treatments per week. The thing is, she can get requests for treatments very spontaneously and we need someone in the house that can jump in to take care of Avidan. We would be also happy if you could help out in the house a little bit, or play with Avidan while we are cooking, cleaning, etc...
    So expect to have a lot of free time, but be ready to not plan to much ahead and to check in with us from day to day.
    We will definetely keep you 2 days per week completely free, where you can do expanded trips up the mountains our out of the valley. But the rest of the week, we are happy if you are around to help us out when we need you.
    Because we will live together in the same appartment and you will be part of our family life, we want to have some time to get to know you: so we will have some kind of "test phase" during the first week, where all parties can decide, if you are going to stay with us longer or not.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Greek: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Hebrew: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room with a double bed. Bathroom and shower is shared with us. Basically you will live with us in our appartment, but don`t worry. There is enough space for you to have your qiet and privacy time.
    If you are two people traveling together, you would have to share a room and bed, as there is only one big bed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you are into hiking, you will be in paradise here. We are in the middle of nature, surrounded by loads of hiking trekks. There is a public bus, stopping almost infront of our house. This bus is going, about every 2 hours, down the mountain to the next village called Reichenbach im Kandertal, where you find a train station. From there it`s easy to go to Spiez (10 mins by train), Thun (20 mins by train, Interlaken (45 mins by train), Bern (45 mins by train), which are all beautiful towns or cities, where you can find museums, restaurants, cinema, a lake or a river to swim, etc.
    We are happy to take you along whenever we are driving somewhere, but you need to be able to get around individually as well, as we can be quiet busy with everyday tasks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is a desk in your room, that you can use. Our wifi connection is quiet stable, but we use a portable modem, which you can put into your room, if connection isn`t strong enough when you need it.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have enough parking space infront of the house, but we always have to organise it in a way that our landlord has access to his workshop

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    We have a cat here on the land. If you want to bring your dog, it needs to be easy with children and the cat. Don´t know what other pets you could bring along, but let me know and we can see what we can do about it

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 258761722225