Join our project and help in a cooking school in Melaka, Malaysia

Country

Malaysia

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there!
    We are two owners running a guesthouse and cooking school in the heart of the old city of Melaka in Malaysia. The guesthouse is an old chinese shophouse dating back 130 years. The house has lots of character and old features but is well maintained and loved. We also run a cooking school from the guesthouse and have tourists from all over the world come and learn Malaysian dishes. We also have a second guesthouse not far away and would also require help with this property too.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will spend time in a local community and have the chance to meet and engage with locals as well as tourists.
    We will teach/share/show you our local tips where to go-where to eat-what to do & local cultures. In between, you will learn Bahasa Malaysia.
    Share your travel stories and experiences with us and our guests.
    You will also be lucky enough to sample lots of local Malaysian dishes and learn to cook and prep these for free when you get back home.

    The guesthouse is situated within the UNESCO World Heritage City area (China town) and 2 minutes walk from the famous Jonker Walk night market and there are lots of temples and other places of interests to discover nearby to be explored on your time off.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with:
    - General housekeeping and maintenance.
    - Check-in/Check-out of guests
    - Watering the plants
    - Painting and carpentry work (if you can)
    - Art skills, music, juggling, uni cycle riding or something else.
    - Help with the cooking classes
    - Shopping at the local market for food for the guesthouse.
    - Feeding the animals and ensuring their space in the garden is kept clean (cats, turtles, fish)

    Day to day tasks will change and this list is not conclusive however this covers the main tasks.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Indonesian: Fluent
    Malay: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers will stay in our other guesthouse where we live (15 minutes walk away) and this house is a traditional Malaysian home.
    Our private rooms are fitted with fans.
    You will have a shared bathroom.
    It is located in the city centre making it convenient to walk to Chinatown, 2 malls, Supermarket, local market, cinemas, 7Eleven, Pharmacies, local eating places, shops.

    You will also have access to our bicycles on a rotation basis, dependent on how many volunteers are staying with us.

    Volunteers are requested to help out in the guesthouse for a minimum of 4-5 hours per day for at least two 2 weeks, with 1 meal per day, This is relatively flexible.

    We will arrange working hours, days, time etc day to day and appreciate flexibility.

    We can only provide one meal a day for sure and coffee/tea.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You could enjoy your time off that doing some activities such:
    *️️️️️️ Jonker Walk night market
    *️️️️️️ Tuesday night market
    *️️️️️️ Lots of temples to visit
    *️️️️️ Join the city tour
    *️️️️️️ Chance to learn to cook with the cookery school experience
    *️️️️️️ Possibility to learn to use a vintage sewing machine
    *️️️️️️ Local fishing villages
    Or you can hang out at the guesthouse and join us for a meal.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 255436469958