Come and help out on our bush property near Darlington, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    194

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4 and live on a bush property in a beautiful, quaint semi-rural village surrounded by bushland and wildlife. I am Kylie, a Landscape Designer, and Norm is an at home dad, a carpenter and has loads of skills to teach. We have 2 lively and gorgeous young boys, 9 & 11 and a puppy named Splinter.

    We are looking for a happy soul/couple to help with both inside and outside tasks - gardening and maintenance, helping with pets, housework, renovating or whatever is going at the time! And cooking - we LOVE people cooking for us if that's your thing.
    We offer flexible hours and are happy for you to do more on one day and less on another so you have time to go into town/explore if you wish.
    Depending on your skills and interests we can also extend the work to more technical jobs as we often have interesting projects on the go - making furniture, renovating sections of the house or landscaping our garden.

    We offer a large separate room with queen sized bed, ensuite, kitchenette, and main meals - breakfast, lunch, dinner.


    We are fairly food conscious and eat healthy whole foods, we are not vegetarian but eat loads of veg and salad.
    Must be good with children though babysitting is not necessarily required.
    Strictly non smokers only please.
    25 and over only

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have been a host family on another network for several years and love the cultural exchange we have had with people from all over the world. The boys just love meeting new people and we always enjoy our evening story telling over dinner.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening, veggie patch, composting, chickens, cleaning house, cooking, home maintenance projects, painting etc, or if you have specific skills we can usually come up with projects to suit you. There is always something to do here!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a comfortable self contained unit below our main house with a separate entry, your own bathroom and kitchenette.

    MEALS: You have access to your choice of food for breakfast and lunch to make yourself wither in our main kitchen or your private kitchenette. Night time meals we usually share and generally ask our volunteers to assist with cooking a few nights per week and cleanup after dinner as in any house share situation. We are also happy to provide you with ingredients to cook your own meals if you prefer - we are happy either way.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our property is in a great location ...loads of walk and bike trails (you can borrow our bikes), native bird life, kangaroos, bandicoots, a winter creek, borders on to a bushland reserve and is surrounded by a great community of people and close to village shop, cafes, post office, horse riding farm etc etc.
    We keep a large organic veggie patch, native gardens, chickens, fruit trees and have many native birds and animals who visit.
    There is public transport to the city just a short walk from our house and are just 40 mins drive to Perth city centre/beach (we go often!).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 254739847551