Family Farm homestay in Beautiful Byron Bay Hinterland, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 445 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    269

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a beautiful old wooden country house, surrounded by green pastures and beautiful rolling hills! Nature completely surrounds us & we have plenty of projects on our property to immerse yourself in, to learn, grow & unwind! We live a very healthy lifestyle, we are a welcoming happy multi-cultural family & love to host people who love nature, animals & kids!

    Various projects happening here & the work depends on what we are doing at the time here and the set of skills you can bring with you! We are adaptable, we sometimes also love to learn what you can offer us at the times when we don't have an important project happening.

    Melody is a life-long Byron shire local, a fashion photographer & has a clothing label which we work from home on, hand sewing, plant dying and painting on natural fibres. Santi is originally from Argentina, loves to play music, football and be in the garden. Little 5 year old Zephyr loves everything about life, he attends a Waldorf school, loves to play outside, has a keen interest in drawing, woodwork, climbing trees and laughing.

    We especially welcome people with experience or knowledge or at least interest in ~
    *️️️️️️️Permaculture & gardening in general
    *️️️️️️️Building (especially traditional style of woodworking, my little son is VERY interested in this too)
    *️️️️️️️Sewing, painting, embroidery & craft skills. If you have an interest to learn with Melody, amazing!
    *️️️️️️️Native Spanish speaking people are especially welcome as Melody and little Zephyr are just learning Spanish!

    We have a fruit tree orchid, some herbs & veggies, PLENTY of space with already established gardens that we would like to create better, and look after better ~ Enthusiastic gardeners with experience we could really use your help and ideas!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would love to share our beautiful region and welcome guests into our home. There is a lot of beautiful rivers and waterfalls to swim in around this area (cold in winter time!) that I can show you and the local farmers markets are always a wonderful experience, we go to them once or twice a week.

    Bangalow is 15 mins drive
    Byron Bay 30 mins
    Lismore 15 mins
    Mullumbimby 30 mins

    There is public transport from the closest town BANGALOW to any of the other surrounding towns but only on weekdays. We drive into Mullumbimby 2 times per day to go to school so can always give you a lift. Most of the travellers who have stayed here have hitchhiked and had fast and easy experiences doing so.

    We have a cat & a dog (Australian Cattle X Kelpie dog) So you must preferably love animals! They are very friendly animals & love to play.

  • Help

    Help

    We love to welcome people to our home as a fair exchange, We are only looking for people who love the philosophy of doing a 'workaway' and are easygoing but hard workers and will positively take initiative with the tasks. We love to learn from the people we host here, to work with them when we can and to share meals & conversation. We also do really like to have our own space, so the workers accommodation is outside of the main house in the beautiful handmade tiny truck house, and you have your space to relax when you like!

    *️️️️️️️We require 4 hours work per day, 5 days per week. We very flexible with when you would like to do the hours, you can do 8 in one day and have the following day off to do something fun. Please understand we feel this is a very fair exchange and do expect you to work the hours and put some energy in.

    *️️ Some general help with washing the dishes after you eat with us, playing with Zephyr sometimes or taking the dog for a walk if you are already walking, are just added extras (not in work hours) that we always greatly appreciate, not expected but very helpful

    *️️️️️️️We provide 3 healthy meals a day which we cook and you are welcome to snack in between meals on fruit or something simple. We cook mostly plant based meals, & use mostly local organic produce from the Farmers market. The meals are very healthy & sometimes delicious ;)

    *️️️️️️️If you don't mind eating simply, We can accomodate for a vegan or gluten free diet as we don't use much dairy at all, and I can prepare without gluten. (sorry we cannot cater for Celiac's and some allergies, check with us first please!)

    *️️️️️️️We don't have a TV in the house :) Our home is a sanctuary and a quite space.. You also have your own seperate space at the outside of the house to have your own space - Usually this will be the BEAUTIFUL tiny truck house!!

    *️️️️️️️Occasionally it would be nice to have someone to play with and look after my son who is 5, but this wouldn't be often or for long.. Taking him on a walk, playing outside with him, anything outdoors or creative! We would just love to have workawayers who genuinely LOVE kids and are patient & friendly and have the time for them :) He is at school 5 days per week, and away at his fathers house 4 days per fortnight, so he is not home very often.

    *️️️️️️️Zephyr attends Waldorf school and it would be such an added bonus to have someone with an interest in Anthroposophy way of life! I am always interested to learn and practice more!

    *️️️️️️️Although almost everyone I have hosted have been AMAZING & respectful in our home, yet we still feel we need to put a mention here: No smoking at all on the property, please keep your space clean & tidy after ourself. Respect our quiet time & the main house is not a place to come and sit on your phone or laptop, but rather have a conversation or watch a documentary or do some art or music with my son! :)

    The WI-Fi is a little limited as it does not reach out to the truck but it does work in the house.

    You must be comfortable with nature & country living :) and please know, as its Australia and we live very close to nature, there will be spiders, mosquitoes and bugs.. So please expect this, it doesn't bother us or our friends at all but occasionally we have has people one to stay and not expecting this and it has bothered them.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English & basic Spanish, some Portuguese.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workaways will sleep in the Tiny Truck house!! Its VERY beautiful, in winter time it can be a little cold so bring some warm clothes to sleep in but you will have a lot of warm blankets.

    We have a large garden and surrounding property so there is a lot of beautiful space to relax and do some yoga, play music or meditate outside..

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Our property & house is strictly non smoking, no drugs & defiantly not a party house. We are very quiet and this is our family home! So we ask for kind respect which will also be shown to you :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week













Host ref number: 967519597645