Chilled Family looking to share music and adventure in return for a little help in Tunbridge Wells, Kent, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 382 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    61.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!
    We are a family of 4 living in Frant which is just outside of Tunbridge Wells in Kent.
    There is myself and my husband (37, 39) and our daughter and son (6yr & 2yr old). We also have 1 cat!

    We work from home, I work in music (festivals) and my husband works in medicine

    We are a friendly, consciously minded, open hearted family who are looking for some help and support with the home, preparing meals, washing, playing and arts and crafts also we would hopefully learn a new language or make some new friends in the process.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are adventures and excursions either in the local countryside (we are on the edge of Ashdown Forest, Sussex) or up to London (you can get there in 1hour). We also spend quite a bit of time in Brighton (seaside town, 45min away). However please be aware that we do have a new baby in the house, so although we love adventure we will be mostly home-based for now, but are more than happy to help you plan some days/nights out and hook you up with friends of ours who are having fun.

    Bobby loves off-road biking as well as road cycling and often goes climbing at weekends and would enjoy your company and be happy to take you too.

    There are plenty of opportunities for anyone who joins us to learn English, learn cooking skills, climbing, piano lessons, biking, hiking, go to festivals, camping, do arts and crafts, dance, smile and be happy.

    Some of our Workaway visitors have volunteered in the local charity shops in Tunbridge Wells and this has really helped their English and given them an opportunity to meet new people and settle into life in the UK.
    Some of them volunteered in the local Theatre and go to see free shows in return!

    We can help you with this if you like.

  • Help

    Help

    I hope you dont mind but I have gone into a lot of detail, so that you know what to expect and what we are expecting!


    We are looking for someone to help out around the house this summer while I work at music festivals!
    Help would be around the house with cooking and cleaning, playing games, do arts and crafts and just be lovely company. We are very keen learning about culture and new language & cooking skills from you. We do not mind if your English is not strong as we are patient and more than happy to help with that. We are keen to learn languages from you too!


    The general home routine on a school day which you are expected to be a part of is :
    07:00 - 08:00 awake, prepare breakfast, empty dishwasher, drink coffee!
    08:05 Hang with my son at home while I take Sky to school
    08:45 home, quick tidy, breakfast...
    09:00 - 10:30 Play with my son while I work (at my computer in the house)

    Daytime - This is your free time!!
    I will generally be cooking, tidying, playing with my son, shopping, going out and about, answering emails

    15:25 Myself or Bobby will pick up from school, it would be good if you were home to watch our son, but not essential
    16:30 Your help to prepare dinner and one/two nights make dinner yourself for the family
    17:15 Dinner
    18:00 Tidy the house, load the dishwasher, wipe surfaces and sweep floor

    Then free time!

    Bobby and I always do the bedtime routine with the children
    18:00 Children Bath
    19:00 Children Bedtime

    Then I usually do work! Or we chat, walk, play cards, sit by the fire pit in the garden... or go to bed! We do not have a TV

    We would mainly need help watching Wylder (our son) so that I can get some work done in the mornings, getting meals ready for dinner and light cleaning around the house (folding washing, picking up toys...) - you would not be expected to clean the whole house, but you are expected to tidy up after yourself and help me keep on top of it.

    Essentially about 3-5hrs / 5days a week. However if you are at home and not 'working' we do not expect to have to tidy up after you, so its important that you are conscientious and considerate. We are happy to be very flexible if you want to go off and explore and we are happy to help you with this (giving you lifts, lending you our bike, giving you bus/train times etc), helping you research places. There is lots to do and its all quite easily accessible.

    We are open to a longer term volunteer, and there is the possibility of a permanent au-pair type role after we get to know you, but we are equally happy for someone to stay a 2-3wks. We would pref a 2 week minimum stay to avoid too much disruption for the children.


    YOU (really important that you read before emailing us as it saves everyone time!)

    - Need to be independent and able to explore on your own, as we have young children in the house and aren't getting out much at the moment!

    - Need to be able to cook and prepare food (this is the main help, if you prepare dinner I get to play with my daughter after school!! That is so helpful and makes us really happy)

    - Experience living with children and spending time with them - you'll need to be able to deal kindly and firmly with any grumps that may happen.

    - Non smoker

    - Must like camping - I am working at quite a few festivals this summer and you will be coming along if it coincides with your visit

    - Confident and sensitive: used to getting things done and happy to join in

    - Experience of being away from home, travelling and staying with other people.

    - Able to ask for what you need/discuss things when you're not sure/not happy.

    - We do not want to have to ask you to help, once you are here and settled it is important for you to be self motivated and able to look and get on with what is required

    This would suit someone who would like a base to explore the area, or pursue their own learning or creative projects.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, basic French and Spanish, some Greek

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a lovely 3 bed cottage with a large garden and traditional countryside kitchen. We only moved here in July and we have lots of plans!

    You would have your own double room with queen size bed and share a bathroom with the house. It has a bath and shower. You will have wifi access 24/7.
    There is a piano, guitars, banjo and accordion if you like to play!

    We would provide a hot meal every evening and breakfast every morning, but you can help yourself to food for lunch. We are not vegetarian, but we are very conscious of the food we eat, so it is always fresh and mostly organic and there isn't always meat. If you are vegetarian we would love to learn from you!!!

    We are within easy walking distance to a local shop and pubs as well as a bus stop that takes you into town (Tunbridge Wells) in 8minutes. You can also walk there through the woods in 60min. There are shops for everything, supermarkets, fashion, restaurants, charity shops, book shops - everything. You can also catch the train to London from here in 55min or to the coast, Hastings in 35min and a bus to Brighton ( I have no idea how long it takes!).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Wow - I dont know where to start, as there is so much to do from here.
    You have it all really
    -Countryside: sailing, climbing, kayaking, windsurfing, hiking, foraging, biking
    -City: pubs, clubs, bars, amazing music venues, London and Brighton under 1hr away
    There is a busy train station 8min away, a bus stop at the end of our road or you can just hop on the bicycle
    We are also 40min from Gatwick airport if you fancied short breaks to Europe
    There are so many music festivals across the summer as well that you can never be bored.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 252593742729