Organic, permacultural gardening in the south of Finland

  • Favourited 460 times
  • Last activity: 14 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We have an organic farm specialized in growing cereals and peas on 89 hectares. We are very interested in regenerative farming and soil health and we try our best to implement these methods on our farm.

    As a workawayer you are not working on the farm since it is run by big modern machinery that would require specific knowledge and tractor drivers license but we are happy to introduce you to the way we think and work.

    We have a vegetable garden and a small greenhouse as well where we grow our own food and where we practice permacultural gardening. This is where we often need a helping hand as well as with feeding the ten chicken and the two lambs. I am also really happy if you like to make dinner for all of us.

    I am giving courses in permacultural gardening in my greenhouse a few days every year and in July we are also opening up our farm for visitors by having a summer cafe in the greenhouse. The cafe is very small, less than six chairs but it is mentioned because it brings people interested in organic farming to our farm and you have to be open for meeting new people and showing them around.

    There is for example an art exhibition in my greenhouse, chicken and lambs that visitors are interested to know more about. The farm is open for visitors only for twelve days in July and we don’t expect you to do cafe work on the open farm days. If you do any kind of music though, please tell us, we are happy to entertain our visitors in the garden with live music.

    Our farm has been in the family for seven generations so the farm is also my childhood home.
    We have a sixteen year old son and three adult sons that do not live on the farm anymore so we are in our fifties.
    My husband is running a business, so he is not working day-time on the farm.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn more about organic/regenerative farming, growing your own food and living on the countryside. And, of course, you can learn how to heat a sauna.

  • Help

    Help

    We expect volunteers to help us for about five hours a day. From May- August it´s mostly gardening. We are growing vegetables mainly for our own use. There can also be other kinds of help, for example making firewood or painting/renovating buildings on the property. Since the machines and tractors on our farm requires drivers license we do not expect you to help us with the field work.

    As a workawayer you are not working on the farm and we don’t expect you to do cafe work on the open farm days.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is one simple room in a sauna-building in the middle of a field. The bathroom is at the farmhouse. We have a guestroom in our house as well, if you come as a single volunteer you may prefer to stay with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live one hour west of Helsinki and 20 minutes (by car) from the nearest small town. A grocery store is 2 km away. We have bikes that you can borrow, but really, this is a quiet and peaceful place with not so many happenings and attractions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 249183298663

Feedback (13)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

















Give us a hand with creating our home in the Finish forest, Kutemajärvi
Come and join our healing farm in the wilderness near Tampere, Finland