Come join our family and explore farm life in the prairies - Saskatchewan, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/03/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with two little girls (4 Years and 16 month) living in the middle of Saskatchewan in cowboy central. We live on a farm with our horses, some cattle, pigs and chickens. My husband farms organic and operates a seed cleaning plant. I raise my kids, work from home and on the local ambulance. I speak german as mother language and raise my kids bilingual. Our farm is in the prairies, lots of agriculture and cattle in the area. The nearest city is 1.5 hrs away. There is lots of lakes to swim, fish, go hiking and great nature to explore and if you like photography we get some of the most amazing skies. The land of the living skies they call Saskatchewan.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn the farm lifestyle here and maybe enjoy a cattle chaise, branding or a rodeo. We live only 15 minutes from the lake diefenbaker. Lots of wild life around here as well. If you’re lucky you can see a moose.

  • Help

    Help

    I prefer a female worker as they spend most their time with me and my girls. Preferred language is german so my kids learn it better.
    The work is helping me out in the house and around the farm yard. Mowing grass, watering trees and flowers, some weed control and helping with the vegetable garden. Also easy animal chores feeding of chickens and horses is in our daily routine as well as keeping their pens clean. If you can ride you are more than welcome to help me keep our horses in shape. We have an outdoor riding arena as well.
    It would be nice if you help out with the kids if I have some book work to do or need to run to town... I usually work along your side as much as I can. We treat everyone like family and if you want to you would be involved in all family activities and outings.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room in our basement with living area and own bathroom, WiFi and all meals included. We also have a car you could borrow for the area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There’s WiFi and there is a separate office space they can use.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 293976166474