Have fun helping us and we will have fun with you while enjoying family life in Courtenay, British Colombia, Canada.

Country

Canada

Favourited 79 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    894

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a fun, chill, active family consisting of my husband and I and our 13 year old son. We are looking for fun people (we can take up to three) to come and stay on our acreage and help with the garden and clearing land. Time commitment is negotiable. We always love helping our workawayer's figure out their next step in Adventure! We live 6kms from the little city centre of Courtenay on 17 acres of mostly forested land. There is access to bikes, paddle boards, bonfires, adventures, and good people to hang out with if interested.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a very active family and we own a sports store in town and have access to many fun activities and adventures, we are 20 minutes from Mount Washington alpine resort and 10 mins to the ocean and minutes from rivers. We love to travel when we aren't homesteading!

  • Help

    Help

    Tasks would include, weeding, watering, harvesting and planting in the garden. Clearing land with a brush saw, chain saw, or hand tools depending on your comfort level. Bucking, chopping and stacking fire wood. Building projects if skilled to do so. We also love having fun, and going to the beach for bbq's after a good days work, or biking down to the river for a dip mid day to cool off! Four hours of help a day is expected and food from the garden and some meals are shared, or we can do all the cooking too. (Access to grocery stores is easy for ease with dietary restrictions and meal timing... This is negotiable)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a clean and rustic, very cozy, and hip airstream trailer with a queen size bed with comfy sheets pillows and a feather duvet. A out side solar shower and composting toilet is used. The trailer is close to the garden in a private part of the woods on our property. We also have a Boler trailer to stay in, or a loft in our home....Options.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live a very healthy lifestyle with clean surroundings and kind hearts, we would expect the same in return for anyone staying with us. We love going on paddle board, running, mountain biking, river tubing, canoeing, hiking, camping adventures that we would encourage our guests to come on too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

One of our local swimming holes.
This is us...the Fam.
We have a wood fired hottub!
This is the view from the airstream a porch, and you can see the outhouse where the composting toilet is.
The two main houses on the property, we have a acre pond to water the garden with!
One of last years "haul"
This is the inside of the airstream accomodations.








Host ref number: 125933424297