Help us with some refurbishment, childcare and in our vineyard, an hour from Wellington, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 414 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    276

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family with three children, 4yo a 6yo and a 8yo.
    We've travelled a lot and came back home to NZ to put down some roots. Recently bought an old country hospital and would love a little help doing the place up. We live in a lovely part of the world with lots to do and enjoy.
    Couples are great and we're happy to have you work together or apart if you prefer?!?
    We grow all of our own vegetables for eating and our meat mostly comes from our farm, we are quite self sustainable and eat very well :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Typical rural Kiwi family, very inclusive, with lovely children that live in a wonderful part of the world with a great community!

  • Help

    Help

    The Hospital...
    I am doing a fitout/refurb of two buildings, turning them into homes, so there is painting, sanding, glazing,plastering, building, electrical work, plumbing... the list is huge! Also landscaping, cleaning etc

    The Winery/Vineyard...
    We have a boutique winery, around 30-40 tonne per annum, with a restaurant and vineyard (lots of wine). Need help there with general winery tasks, cleaning, topping, drinking, moving barrels etc.

    Kids...
    Three awesome kids, Lucinda (7) at school five days a week, Freddy (4) at Kindy 5 days a week and Amelie is 3 years old at kindy 3 days a week and very cute. We'd love the kids to learn some other languages as they're taken care of one or two days a week.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some badly spoken French and Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    It varies from time to time but we have a Bedroom/sunroom on the side of the house and a caravan (caravan is almost ready!) , the caravan is a little rough but getting better every time we do a little work on it together! I have just had it spray painted, wall papering shortly! It will have a TV and internet etc with a little sink and cooker but the toilet is inside the house, eventually it will suit a couple :) the view from your bedroom is beautiful. Currently you will be in the sunroom and it has a king size bed or two single beds, depending on your travellers requirements!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You'll definitely need a drivers licence! We should be able to rustle up a car for you from time to time for your days off so you can go exploring, but, having your own car is preferred.

    We're only 1 hour from Wellington by a lovely train that heads to the heart of the city.
    About thirty minutes from the coast if you're into diving, it's awesome!, or 10-15 minutes from two lovely country towns with great pubs.
    There's great hunting on the family farm if you are into it and our family is awash with horses if you like to go for a ride on your days off.

    Some meals we would ask that you retire to your room (we will provide the food etc) just for everyone to have a little space as it's a tough time of the night to get kids into bed/stories/tired kids/tired parents etc but 9 times out of ten we'll have a nice meal together :)

    Cheers!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)















Host ref number: 248578652217