Living the Dream in Lismore, Co. Waterford, Ireland

Country

Ireland

updated  

Favourited 60 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/04/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    311

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We've just moved into an amazing old house with large surrounding garden, tennis court and paddocks, so we are looking for people who have experience with gardening or painting to come and help tame the garden and bring the surrounding buildings back to life. Particularly, in the months of April and June.

    We are a healthy, active family. We like gardening, walking, sailing, fishing, yoga, riding and cooking/socialising with friends and family. We have a spacious house, 2 energetic children; a boy aged 5 and a girl aged 4 years old, and two friendly dogs.

    I'm Jess. I teach nutrition (though I'm about to start working on my Dad's farm which is near by) and my husband, John, is a landscape gardener. We are outdoorsy people who like being active and keeping ourselves busy. Both kids love being outside, building things, drawing, playing with Lego or dolls, and reading.

    The Local Town:
    We live in Lismore, a small, beautiful town on the edge of the Blackwater River and the foothills of the Knockmealdown Mountains. It’s a historic town that tourists love to visit. It has its own cathedral and castle!

    Lismore is a great community. There is a couple of nice cafes in the town, a good local pub, library, tennis club, and cricket club. There is the opportunity nearby to practise Pilates, swim in the river, kayak, row, horse ride, go to the gym, join an art class. Lismore is on an hourly bus route to Dungarvan, only 20 minutes away, which is famous for its Traditional Irish music and hosts many great little pubs, a shopping centre, cinema, excellent restaurants, a sailing club, and the Greenway cycle route.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would like you to join us for evening meals (maybe cook one a week - share your culture with us) and spend time with us (and our extended family or friends). Learn about growing your own vegetables. In the summer time, come sailing, swimming or camping with us.

    We also hope that you enjoy meeting new people and experiencing what Lismore, Dungarvan and Ireland have to offer. You will have plenty of time to travel at weekends, if you want.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who is practical, enthusiastic and self-motivated, who likes to be outdoors, be active, likes healthy food, has a sense of humour and is able to communicate.

    Type of Help Needed:
    Most of the year round, we need help from people who have experience in any of the following: gardening, weeding, trim hedging, planting and picking vegetables, laying patios, painting woodwork...so if you have experience with any of these activities, we would love you to come and experience life in this tiny slice of paradise.

    From Mid-June to August, the kids are on summer holidays so I will need help with childcare every morning. If you can teach the kids to horse ride, swim or play tennis, paint, dance, sing, you name it, they would love to hang out. They are out-going, fun-loving kids. This combination of tasks might suit for two people travelling together.

    Please help us to keep the house tidy and do small amounts of cleaning when required e.g. hoover or mop the kitchen

    4 hours of help in the mornings on Mondays to Fridays.

    Food:
    We will provide food for you. You can choose to eat with us or separate to us - there is a separate kitchenette should you wish to use it. We eat lots of vegetables, seafood, and meat. Our son is intolerant to cow's produce, tomatoes, seeds, seed oils, nuts and nut oils, so it limits our vegan and vegetarian recipes. If you are vegetarian/vegan and want to take on the challenge of introducing us to new recipes that work for all of us, then please come and stay!

    Dogs:
    You will not have to care for the dogs, but they live in the house, so you must be comfortable around dogs.

    Car:
    Must be aged 21 or over with 4 years driving experience on a manual car to be insured on the car, though driving is not 100% necessary.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Is in the house. It is a good-sized bedroom with a kingsize (large) double bed and with separate, but own private bathroom with shower and bathroom. You also have use of your own entrance and staircase and kitchenette (in the shared utility room, if you would like to eat some meals separately). There is also plenty of space in the rest of the house to find a quiet corner to read or watch a movie.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Local Link bus runs an hourly service to Dungarvan from Lismore.

    Fermoy is 20 mins drive away. Here you can get the Aircoach to Cork airport (1 hour) or Dublin airport (3 hours), or a bus to Cork city from which you can get trains and buses to other parts of the country, such as Kerry.

    There is lots to do and experience nearby. Here are just some ideas:
    Walk around the gardens at Lismore Castle
    Join the Literary festival in Lismore in June
    Go to the Opera Festival in Lismore in May
    Read books at the Towers and Tales festival in May
    River kayaking in Cappoquin
    Watch a hurling match
    Walk or swim at big, wide open beaches near Dungarvan and Ardmore
    Go sea kayaking at Ardmore
    Trekking in the Knockmeal downs or Comergah Mountains (Mahon Falls and Coumshingaun Lake Walk)
    Take a gentle stroll at The Towers woodland walk in Lismore
    Cycle the Waterford Greenway
    Try some of the local produce (The Waterford Blaa, meat from McGraths Butchers in Lismore, Crinnaghtaun apple juice, Blackwater gin, Comergah Mountain lamb, Knockalara sheep’s cheese, Dungarvan Brewery, Nutrilicous nutty chocolate snacks, sourdough from the Seagull Bakery)
    Go to All Together Now music festival in August at Curraghmore House

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

June 2017 and some of the fruits of my labour!
Fishing for seatrout in Lough Currane, Kerry
Getting ready for the launch

Host ref number: 898654975177