1 / 3

Help me renovate an old building to create hub for the local community in Smilyan, Bulgaria

  • Favourited 33 times
  • Last activity: 16 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    In 2019 after coming back home from 8 years working and learning furniture making in Scotland . I bought an old wreck of a building behind our house. My idea is to renovate this building and create art and craft workshops. And turn it into a kind of hub for the local community. The first phase of the renovation is now completed. That includes the accommodation space , big shared terrace and exterior thermal insulation of the building. The woodwork shop is almost done as well. The plan is to create a blacksmith workshop, pottery shop, textile workshop, printmaking studio and jewelry workshop . The building have a very large and deep basement which was flooded for many years . We managed to pump most of the water out. But still there is a shallow layer of muddy water on the bottom that needs to be cleared.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Guest can spend as much time as they wish with me and my family. Explore the Rhodope mountains around the village of Smilyan ( there are lots of caves , trails and other poits of interest. ) I the local town of Smolyan there are museums, galleries and library. I could also teach people woodwork skills and show them the local wildlife.

  • Help

    Help

    Renovation/ building work . Painting . Clearing and rearranging. Woodwork projects in the shop . General maintenance. I most cases I will be working with my guests. Last year my father retired so he does help when He can , but usually I am on my own . So I could realy do with an extra pair of hands . The variety of jobs needing done is huge and I am running out of steam . The last 4 years I haven't really had a break.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Russian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I do have some basic Russian knowledge from school . I would like to freshen it up a bit .

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are 3 small attic rooms, sharing a bathroom . And a double room with a separate bathroom . Below on the terrace there is a big kitchen , where we can prepare the meals and share them on the big table . On the terrace there is also a library, TV and a home Cinema.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is public transport to town . And I can provide a push bike for exploring the village. And if needed I can give a lift with my car to local places of interest .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is free internet on site . Comfy Home Cinema reclining chairs . Spacious cool terrace with a library and a kitchen .

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is a space for any size camper to park right next to The project.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Outdoor pets only

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 248389423589

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Enjoy a balanced and natural lifestyle in Novogorci, Bulgaria
Enjoy the peace of Bulgarian countryside & help to maintain a beautiful house with two kittens in Malki Iskar