Help me with some garden projects in Liverpool, NS, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a retired person living on 2.36 acres of semi-rural property. I am an artist, and an avid gardener who loves to grow food and herbs. I love music, I often sing while I am busy. I love to cook and preserve foods in creative and healthy ways. I love to share food and really enjoy a sit down meal with great conversation. I am pretty confident I have a good sense of humour, I know I make myself laugh a lot. I am mindful, kind, respectful and I love life.
    The patch of this planet that I am caring for has many old established trees, shrubs and flowers. It was also neglected and allowed to grow feral for a long time. It has expansive lawns begging to become productive gardens and a beautiful little forest that welcomes all who enter her. I am registered with the Canadian Wildlife Federation as a wildlife friendly habitat and am not planning to disrupt the forest part of this plot in any way. I have lived here for two years.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As a person who loves to create and to share art space with others, I can offer skill exchange or teaching some of the art I do. I am a ceramic artist creating a wood burning kiln in my garden that will also be used for Raku. I also create a lot of textiles including needlefelt sculpture, knitting, crocheting. I live in a historically interesting area of Nova Scotia, I am minutes from a great beach, and a few minutes longer to a few more. There is lots to do here in a quiet laid back way. My heritage is Danish and I enjoy cooking not only Danish cuisine, also Italian, Thai, Chinese and Canadian fare.

  • Help

    Help

    I am asking for help with building gardens, completing a wattle fence I started last year, help with the physical and creative aspects of large art pieces incorporated into the landscape.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Danish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am interested in learning about other cultures and language is part of that.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a two room bedroom/sitting room in my house suitable for a single person or couple. There is a full bathroom upstairs and a half bath on the ground floor. I will provide food for three meals on working days and I will cook for two of them. This can be worked out on an individual basis. I do have a dog and two cats. The common areas of the house welcome all who use them.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The town of Liverpool is a Privateer town of old with lots of history! There is also Lunenberg not far away, the home of the Bluenose II, snd also full of history and places to visit. I am open to driving to Liverpool and Lunenberg as there really is no public transportation here. I have a wide driveway with ample room for a second car.
    My days are pretty flexible and I start early and finish late. I love my morning coffee and walks on the beach or in my little forest to start my day. I do spend time in my studio, which is never off limits for chats and art sharing.
    I do like my quiet time too, usually in the evenings, though I am also open to music making.
    I guess, really, I take life as it comes and it usually comes pretty sweetly.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have solid high speed internet connection that I will share freely for regular use.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I can easily provide space for a campervan, lots of tenting spots too. Large motor homes would be challenging.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Only dogs that are friendly with cats. Also, I have no fenced areas nor barns for goats, donkeys, horses, etc.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 422393887168