Raising awareness for biodiversity, environmental issues and more to locals in a small village in Uttarakhand, India

Country

India

Favourited 65 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    i live in a small village nestled in the evergreen forests of lower himalayas near champawat city, close to nepal border.When i settled here 20 years back the place was a dense lush green forest of himalayan oak, devdar(cedar),rhododendron, bay mayrtle,pine,alder,raspberries and many more. Still it is a beautiful forest in spite of rampant felling of trees and many water springs are still alive.. My efforts are to make the people aware about the catastrophic consequences of cutting the trees and my audiences in this individual project are children from age 5 to age 15 or so. We show them films on biodiversity, environmental issues, astronomy, and the symbiotic relationship that we have with the nature. our other concern is to protect and conserve native trees and the seeds of native vegetables and grains which are under big onslaught from the mnc seed companies slike cargill and monsanto. In order to disseminate the knowledge through our volunteers who are committed to save the biodiversity of this planet we propose to discuss with them the possibility of sharing their knowledge with the children of the schools located in the remote villages near Pilibhit Tiger reserve on Nepal border. There are three elementary schools located near Sharda river with basic infrastructure. The volunteers will be staying with the families and will have home-cooked fresh food made from the vegetables procured from the villages. In leisure time they can go for a boat ride with the fishermen or can visit four Tiger national parks in the vicinity of the school, two of them in Nepal, Bardia national park and Shukla fanta. My wife Uma teaches children of ragpickers and other homeless children in a slum of Delhi. I have two children, one daughter who is pursuing studies in environmental science from the University of Munich and one son who is staying with me. .
    This village is surrounded by tea gardens and many beautiful walks around with some heritage temples more than 1000 years old .At a distance 60 kilometres there is a confluence great rivers Mahakali and Saryu famous for mahaseer fish of genera Tor or Neolissochilus which live till 35 years and are as big as 6 feet. This place is ideal to view many himalayan snow peaks rising as high as 6600 to 7500 metres.
    This valley looking like a huge amph -theatre has attracted many luminaries like Swami Vivekanand and Dr J C Bose, the first scientist from Asia to get a Noble Prize in Botany.
    There are many local fares specially one stating in the last week of may where thousands people come from remote village in their traditional dresses. From January to March end people celebrate Holi festival by regular community dance and music programmes based on indian classical music.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Culturally this valley is so unique because it was not known to even indians as there was no roads. Many assyrians are reported to have come and settled here 2500 years back. Volunteers can learn about their traditional ways of cooking food with herbs from the forests and other forest produce. There are opportunities to learn permaculture and learn Yoga and meditation.

  • Help

    Help

    The volunteers who intend to enjoy their stay for long duration would be welcome to teach any form of permorming arts like music, theatre, painting or about hygiene. Help would be sought in painting some parts of the 200 sq. meteres building. There are are many other areas which would emerge in the natural course of interactions.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Punjabi (Eastern): Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    They will be given beautiful cottages with clean beds to be shared between two with an attached bathroom with running hot and cold water. There is a wi-fi connection available all the time.From the cottage they will have a magnificent view of himalayan snow peaks and forest. They will have 24 hours access to a well equipped kitchen with all the raw material and an option to have home cooked food. Though this is 5 kilometres away from champawat city but regular transport and a bike on hire is also available. The volunteers are provided three meals in a day and and no fee is charged from them.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    there are not many people living in the house except me and a lady who helps me in daily work. sometimes my wife or children stay with me. In the morning we have one hour yoga session and after that you will find me in the kitchen or in the kitchen garden. everyone is free to decide on their timing of eating, sleeping and working as advocating freedom is one of our main concern.
    In their time off the volunteers can play with children or play basketball or go for a walk in the forest or to many villages around share the experience of the village community.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have an exclusive cottage for workawayers with a workstation and wi fi of 3 GB per day.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is ample space for many big vehicles for parking

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    All pets that the volunteers are in love with

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 to 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 178438632195