updated  

Help with gardening and experience remote beaches and wildlife in Port Hardy, Canada

  • Favourited 34 times
  • Last activity: 26 Feb 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I have a large lot in a small rural town where I garden and raise hens. I grow a lot of my own food and enjoy cooking creatively with what I grow. I am an artist, and although I have a broad range of skills, my work is primarily in print media. I am creative and a quiet thinker; I am also productive and outdoorsy, but knee problems limit my mobility. I love water and prefer swimming in cold water. I still work full time, but hope to retire in a few years. I am interested in hosting workawayers this fall to move gravel, help in the garden, or paint a room in the house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am very interested in learning about different cultures, and I would enjoy teaching English. I am also interested in learning French, and would especially enjoy the company of a workawayer who could exchange French for English skills, but I would be happy to provide a cultural exchange from anywhere.

    I live in a small fishing village in a beautiful and remote area of coastal Canada, and would love to host individuals who enjoy the outdoors. There are beaches, hiking trails, lakes, wildlife watching, camping and boating within a few km of my home. There is dramatic coastal scenery wherever you look. My home is 1.5 km from the closest beach; but there are many beaches in this region.

    You will also have the opportunity to learn about the ancient culture of the local Kwakwa̱ka̱ʼwakw people who inhabited this land long before Europeans arrived in Canada.

  • Help

    Help

    I am pre-retirement and enjoy gardening, I have knee problems, so I really appreciate help with gardening and work around the house. This fall I will need help moving gravel, work in the garden, and perhaps painting a room in the house. In exchange, you will get to visit one of the most spectacular coastal wildernesses in the world.

    Potential workawayers will be interviewed via video chat to see if they would be a good fit.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am a native English speaker, and I am interested in learning French, but I enjoy learning about all cultures.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I can provide a bedroom in my home with a shared or separate bathroom. You would also be welcome to camp in the backyard if you prefer. There is a fire pit in the backyard which can be used at any time, unless there are provincial fire bans due to forest fire hazard. I will cook dinner; I am an enthusiastic cook and make mainly vegetarian soups, stews(/curries) and salads. I will provide food for you to help yourself for breakfast and lunch. I have hens in the backyard, so there's often a supply of fresh eggs in spring and summer.

    I have two pet house cats, so would like workawayers who are respectful of cats. If you are allergic, then this opportunity may not be for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can make your way here from Vancouver either by air, or by ferry and bus. Car rentals are available up here, but if you arrive in your own car, there is plenty of parking. I do not loan out my own car, but there is a regional bus service that will allow you to get around locally. There is endless hiking and camping nearby, and excellent kayaking . If you prefer the slow life, comb some of the local beaches, or read a good book on the docks downtown. This is a quiet rural community, so If you're searching for urban excitement, this opportunity may not be for you. what you will find is stunning scenery; mountainous coastlines dotted with islands and wildlife. Bears, whales, otters and porpoises are common here.

    There are two small islands that you can visit that are accessible by bus and ferry: Malcolm island and Cormorant island. Both have very unique and creative histories; one First Nations, and the other northern European. Telegraph Cove is also a nice place to visit, and is the place to go if you want to make arrangements for diving, a boat tour, a whale watching tour or a kayaking trip. It is near the Broughton archipelago; an area of deep fiords, many tiny islands and bountiful wildlife.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have Wifi available in my home

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have a large driveway with lots of parking, unfortunately a lot of it is on a slope, so a smaller vehicle would be a better fit. There is a free sani-dump at the regional park 5 km away. local bylaws prohibits campervan/motorhome stays over one month.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-4 focussed hours/day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 919715562757

Feedback (1)

Feedback


Come and help our family and enjoy Vancouver in the park, Canada
Join our family, help us with daily tasks and enjoy the company of our pets in Salt Spring Island, Canada