Enjoy hands on experience with Farm Animals in beautiful Sunshine Coast Hinterland

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 246 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    48  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a small farm close to the beautiful beaches and picturesque hinterland on the Sunshine Coast.
    We breed Dexter cattle and milk the cows for our own use as milk, cheese and yoghurt etc. We also breed Miniature Goats and again when they are in milk use that for cheese.
    Breeding heritage poultry is another of our interests.
    As we have some natural bushland, native animals often visit us.
    John is a senior science teacher and Cynthia has a home office business.
    We welcome workaways to help with the caring of the animals, general farm duties, gardening, household chores. There is always jobs to do in the veggie garden.
    Our aim is to be as self sufficient as possible although this is a 'work in progress'.
    Drugs and excessive use of alcohol are NOT tolerated

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience a farm lifestyle and develop an understanding of the work that goes with farm life.
    Hands on experience with farm animals.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with feeding the animals and looking after them.
    Some cleaning and general maintenance of the property and developing and maintenance of gardens.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayer(s) have a bedroom with a queen size bed, bathroom and toilet and a seperate lounge room in the house. There is a twin room for single workawayer(s).
    The rooms will be clean and tidy when you arrive and we ask that you leave them in the same state when you move on.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area we live is close to the Glasshouse Mountains, cultural towns such as Montville and Maleny, and twenty minutes from the beach at Caloundra. Shops are five minutes away.
    Australia Zoo is just a short drive away.
    Train and Bus service close by

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Cynthia working in the lovely garden surrounding the house.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)






























Host ref number: 877144228725