Join us and help with some light home projects in Atlanta, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a "empty nest" couple with a huge backyard we want to turn into a fantasy garden cool hangout. We have family connections and background from Argentina, Chile, Costa Rica, Colombia, Cuba, Louisiana, and Texas. Amy has experience as a tour guide, and as a Spanish Interpreter for the courts, activist for Immigration rights. Luis is from Cuba originally and has been an attorney, a business owner, and computer repair technician. We love to dance Salsa, crafts, sewing, projects around the house and want to start gardening in our new yard. We are very outgoing and friendly, have travelled extensively and are interested in everything about your culture. We also value alone time so we try to keep a balance that makes everybody happy. We are looking for a couple so that you have someone to keep you company when we are busy. We have been fully vaccinated. Atlanta still has masks mandates but everything is open. We have a full basement with private space for you. Look for more details in the following sections.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will benefit from our life experience and travels. You can practice your language skills in either English or Spanish. You can practice pronunciation, use of idioms and slang. We can teach you sewing, quilting, knitting, Salsa dancing, bongo playing, DJ music mixing, Colombian cooking, Cuban cooking, Cajun cooking, American cooking as well as basic handyman skills and use of electric tools. We love to hear about your country, your culture, your opinions on politics and social issues. We also like to try new foods, dances, and listen to different music. We love to play music on the back deck and dance or sing karaoke. Sometimes my daughter and her college friends come over.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a friendly energetic COUPLE or TWO friends to help with outdoor projects including: Stone pathway, ceramic mosaic, painting murals, planting shrubs and flowers, training our very intelligent active dog. Our rainy day indoor projects include: painting, decorating, organizing pictures, digitizing home movies, cooking, general cleaning, and sewing.
    We request a minimum of one week with a maximum of 3 weeks. Help for five days at 5 hours a day and two days off or longer days and three days off if you want to take a weekend trip.
    Someone who is hard working, self motivated and fairly organized. We will teach you what you don't know and give you a choice of projects to help with based on your interest and skill. We just ask that you be honest about what you know how to do. We request that you don't smoke anywhere close to the house and don't bring in strangers or drugs. We have been fully vaccinated and Atlanta still has mask mandates but everything is open. We request that you follow social distancing and wear a mask when you go in public.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We speak fluent English and Spanish and would love to learn any language you speak.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a full daylight basement that includes two rooms, bathroom, living room and space for a mini fridge and microwave. That means that the rooms have windows to the outdoors and not an underground basement. The basement also has a separate entrance to the outside or you can use the indoor stairs. If you travel with a friend you can each have a room (I have double bed or single bed) or if a couple you can share the bedroom and set up the second room as a work area. The basement has a TV and unlimited internet. We have bicycles you can use on the beltline trail. There is a separate patio you can use outside on your time off. We will provide groceries and ingredients for breakfast and snacks, we will provide a home cooked dinner. Lunch can be left overs, sandwiches or on your own on your free time. If we are free we can give you a ride to the train or downtown or airport. All within 15 minutes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Atlanta is a perfect mix of city and nature. We have trees and birds in the backyard but are 15 minutes from all the action downtown. We are also only 10 minutes from the airport if you want to take weekend trips or to continue on after your time with us. Atlanta is home to Martin Luther King Center for Civil Rights, The High Museum of Art, several history museums, Stone Mountain Park, The State Capitol Building, Six Flags, Lake Lanier Water Park, tubing on the Chattahoochee river, home to the Walking Dead, Georgia Aquarium, World of Coca Cola, Centennial Olympic Park, CNN, Fernbank Museum, and the Fox Theatre. Amy was a tour guide for over 10 years and would love to help you plan local sightseeing or weekend trips that could include Orlando, New Orleans, Nashville, Washington DC, or Dollywood in Tennessee.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have unlimited Internet and a good connection. We also have a private space for you. We are looking for couples or two friends.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a second driveway with gravel where you can park an RV. The angle of the entrance probably limits the length allowed.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day/5 days week



Host ref number: 243586498878