Help out at our small community-to-be near the village Kiskunmajsa, Hungary

Country

Hungary

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    70.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello lovely souls,

    First of all, welcome to our page, great that you found us!

    We are a small community-to-be on the Hungarian Pusta, near the small village 'Kiskunmajsa'. We live a simple, honest life in connection with nature. Living surrounded by animals and silence, It is a place to connect. Connect with the inner you, with like-minded people, your desires and your fears.

    Dive into helping in the garden, renovating houses, building new dreams, taking care of the animals, taking long walks underneath the stars, creating a new (art) festival/gathering in the summer. Come and play, meditate, build, be creative, breathe, care and share with us.

    We have a space to share with volunteers who want to disconnect from the big cities and live a life experience in contact with nature, simple and without going against the clock.

    We are definitly looking for people with creative ideas, skills and innovative thinking.
    Our place was created just over a year ago so we are everyday re-inventing what we want this place to be. A lot of people came, some joined and others have left, and everyone left their mark, we want you to do the same! Do you have experience with for example foodforests, permaculture, earthships, cooking with wild vegetables and plants, making a pizza-oven, bees, or do you have an amazing art project in mind? We are super happy to discuss it with you.

    We do most of the tasks together. Some of the tasks will be messy, some will be creative, some will be mind numbingly boring but there will always be a cup of tea/glass of wine ready (whichever you prefer) and the right kind of people for this place are the ones who have fun whatever we have going on. We also expect you to do your part in keeping the house (kind of) clean or cook dinner for example.

    There will also be plenty of time for.....whatever you want! As said we live in nature, so there is always enough to discover. The village is 15 minutes by car, and there are a lot of abandoned buildings around, if you are into exploring them. But also just meditate, do yoga, go for a swim in the nearby thermal bath, riding horses, play with the dogs, read a book (we have a lot of beautiful books).

    We are open for longterm guest. But if you want to stay longer then a month, we want to sit and talk after two weeks, to find out how it goes.

    ABOUT US
    At the moment we, Francis and Gerard are living here with 3 dogs, 3 horses, a sheep and goat. In spring we will welcome several ducks, chickens and a rooster :) Some people visit often or are thinking about coming to live with us in this little paradise, but for now it's the two of us. We are open for the future to let this place grow to is fullest potential, we'll see what it will bring with curious minds. We both moved here from The Netherlands last year. Gerard is also a filmmaker and responsible for the work on the buildings, and Francis is the loveliest soul who takes care of the animals and garden. She makes a lot of beautiful things from natural materials, and is super innovative.
    We love cozy evenings with a campfire, visiting Thermal bath, singing, making jokes, drinking beers and sharing ideas about life.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Hopefully we will learn from each other and exchange experience in any kind of form. Cooking together should be fun as well ideas in art and music. We love long conversations after dinner, reading poetry or stories to eachother, making music.

    In your free time you can also explore the region, we have bikes available and there is a trainstation in Kiskunmajsa. Budapest is 1,5 hrs by train.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for creative, artistic, dreamy, unique, inspiring, daring workawayers.

    Helping with us includes:

    - Feeding the animals
    - Cleaning the house(s)
    - Cooking (preparing food for lunch and dinner)
    - Bioconstruction
    - Gardening
    - Permacultural techniques/Permacultural design
    - Natural art works
    - Rennovating the beautiful old Tanya's (little farmhouses)
    - A lot of work on our 3ha of nature

    If you have an idea for organising workshops, courses, events, if you have ány proposal, do not hesitate to contact us!

    We offer 4-6 hours a day of help for a place to sleep and delicious (local) food.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Common farm area with a kitchen, living room with woodstove, sometimes wi-fi (if we turn it on ;) and there is a hot water shower. Small porch with a wooden table and chairs. The toilet is a litle house outside. You have to love, or be okay with our simple way of living.

    Accomodation:
    1. A two-persons sleeping sofa. The room is yours, and can be closed off from the rest of the house. At day we sometimes use it as living room.

    2. Free space to camp with a tent.
    (We can provide you with a tent if
    needed)

    Restauration of the second house is going fast and there is a plan to have a yurt in the near future, so accommodation will change. This is what we can offer for now.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 232952688288