Experience this wonderful city and help get my house and garden into shape, Portland, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 301 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    35  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Retired public health service worker here. After working for 35 years in various aspects of public health I'm now enjoying retirement. I have no excuse any longer but to get my urban "estate" in shape. I'm located in a great part of Portland between the Irvington and Alameda neighborhoods. And nestled in here are 3 adjoining houses with oversized lots. With the oversized lots I also have over zealous plants that are in need of some tough love to bring them back into control.

    After being lost in the urban jungle for a few hours, it's a very short walk to a nice little shopping area with a grocery store, coffee shops, library branch, restaurants, and pubs, among other things. With a longer walk or bus ride you find yourself on Alberta Street with all of its food, music, bars, galleries, and so much more. Or walk a different direction and find yourself on Williams and Mississippi Avenues. Again so many things to see and do on those two streets. Yet another direction brings you to the Lloyd District with lots of shopping and restaurants.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I love Portland and can help you have a great time in the city and Oregon. I'm interested in learning other languages and can help you with your English.

  • Help

    Help

    I need people who love working outdoors and don't mind the physical labor needed to whip this place back into shape!! But there also are other tasks like painting, gardening of plants who have been more restrained, and general maintenance. Will be looking for help in doing an alteration of the basement area to living space such as making larger windows.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live in one of the 3 adjacent houses. You will have your own bedroom with a real bed and access to your own bathroom. All meals are provided and I'd love to sample some of your cooking if you have a mind. I will expect that there will be no shoes worn in the house. I have no pets and will not host others who need to bring their pets with them. I'm a brew pub and cider aficionado who'd love to show you what Portland has to offer. But if you don't drink, no worries.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bus lines are within 1 block of the house. There are many nearby bike routes. I can introduce you to my brother who also is a workaway host. He loves to go hiking and camping and is willing to do so on a moments notice :-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






















Host ref number: 232547977572