Family-run, islandic horse farm with organic gardening is looking for helping hands and new ideas!

Country

Germany

Favourited 47 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    63.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are living on a little, family-run farm in the countryside near Bochum. We have 8 islandic horses, living in a stable nearby the house next to the forest, grazing on the surrounding land. I am working as a horseriding teacher, my husband runs a nature conservation organisation. Two of our older children moved away for studying, our youngest daughter, 21, is living with us and supports us on the farm. Two guinea-pigs, a couple of chickens, bees, cats and two dogs complete our family. We have an organic kitchen garden that we would like to extend and develope even more torwards a permaculture systeme in the long run.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    While staying with our family, you can learn about animal care and the little tasks of daily farm life. We are all fine talking English (with some grammatical problems;) ) and very much looking forward to meeting new people from other regions or countries!

  • Help

    Help

    Depending on the season, we usually need help in the garden, harvesting and processing fruits and vegetables for the winter. Of course there is always daily work at the stables- cleaning those, caring for the animals and feeding them.
    As we would like to lead the garden more torwards a permaculture, we are very open to new ideas and interested in little projects to realize on our property!!

    Concerning living together, we would like to do the general housework and cooking together or just split it.

    In may, we are looking for help in painting the walls inside :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own rooms to sleep in with an extra bathroom.
    Our diet is mostly vegetarian.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a local bus running to the little towns nearby every hour, except from sundays. In this way you could also visit the bigger cities in the Ruhrgebiet, like Bochum, Dortmund or Cologne.
    For weekend trips in the surrounding countryside you can borrow our bikes- it´s a region very known for it´s bike trails!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 229699131364