Help transform a small farm into a wider eco-project for families in Cuetzalan del Progreso, Mexico

  • Mexico
  • Favourited 53 times
  • Last activity: 03/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I'm a mother of three living in a foggy forest in the mountains of Puebla and co-living with a grandma who is an old friend that sometimes receives the visit of her sons, daughters and husband (whom are also friends of ours).

    The property we live in is surrounded by nature; the river is nearby. The house consists of a main house where grandma lives; an independent kitchen and four bedrooms with two bathrooms where we live. We have dogs, cats, chickens, two kinds of bees and a small greenhouse. Though the house has no nearby neighbors, It is important to mention that the house is about 150 meters away from the highway, so from time to time you can hear cars and buses; specially big buses.

    I work in a local NGO with an art project with the local youth, mainly indigenous Náhuat youth. The art project consists of an engraving workshop, a drawing and painting workshop, a small cafe and shop, and a couple of rooms to receive teachers and students from outside. In another community we also have a carpentry, which helps us with the art project but also with other projects.

    I usually leave with two of my children after breakfast at around 8:30am; while the last one of our kids stays with a lady that helps us with chores and babysitting. We come back to eat with the kids at around 4pm.

    I'm looking for other mothers with children who want to share some of the caretaking duties with children in the afternoons, preferably who can also help growing veggetables in the greenhouse and outside, and who can also help with the maintenance of the compost. Someone who likes to walk in nature would also be desireable.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a zone where the Náhuat culture and language still prevails at large. Also, we have close contact with an art project that does involve Náhuat emerging artists and also artists from other parts of Mexico and/or the world.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    As we have a variety of projects, the help you give depends on what project you want to collaborate in:

    - Art project: you can help out accompanying our team in the variety of activities they do: creating murals and paintings; doing canvases frames for the paintings; teaching youth painting, drawing or any other technique you know well; selling online and with tourists in english; creating merchandize from the murals and paintings to sell; and other alike activities.

    - Playhouse project: you can help out with school like activities, involving indoor and outdoor creative play for approximately 10 children ages 2-8.

    - Carpentry project: you can help out in the different carpentry orders: canvases and frames for the art project, furniture and experimental toys with bamboo for the playhouse project, and in general orders from clients which usually are for furniture. Also, you could help out with general maintenance of the different houses we rent for the different projects.

    - Help with Juan's house: you can help out with the greenhouse and vegetable gardens; with the bees, and with the general maintenance of the house. In this project, it is important to mention that you would be sharing time mostly with Elena, Juan's mother, and not so much with us, as we mostly just arrive to sleep and we leave at around 10am in the mornings.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would be staying with us in a space that has four bedrooms and two bathrooms. You would stay in one of the bedrooms and have your own bathroom, though the main hallway where the bathrooms are would be shared with us. Also, at nights it is important to mention that the kids cry from time to time, so keep this in mind!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Cuetzalan del Progreso is a very nice touristy town and has wonderful natural surroundings to explore. There are many caves and waterfalls all around; one archeological site; nice cafes with music on weekends; etc. The main town is around 15 minutes away by car or public transport, and you can take transport from outside the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have 10gb of internet. It is important however to mention that whenever the weather is extremely bad, internet and/or light does go frequently go down.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Cats or dogs that don't sleep in their owner's bed.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 222913574444

Photos

Feedback

Help us create online content for our permaculture farm project in Chiapas, Mexico
Language exchange in Acapulco, Mexico