Help out around our large property in stunning surroundings in the heart of BC, Tatlayoko Lake , Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 109 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Having lived here all my life so far :) I am a bit bias towards expressing the freedom one feels in the surroundings and the family atmosphere. Having nearly 400 acres it takes considerable time to keep up to mother nature as she tries to fill in the cleared areas but I wouldn't give it up for anything. If it is hands on learning and stimulating your senses to the natural surroundings, Bears are in the fields all spring and early summer so pay attention enjoy but respect. Laughter is a primary reaction that needs to be expressed ;) I enjoy doing it and you are welcome to join me. Oh..right... We are not on the grid, we generate our own power so it isn't 24 hrs. a day unless totally necessary.
    Individuals need to have travel and accident insurance coverage prior to hosting. There are no exchange of funds as it is a work exchange for experience, room and board.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Lots of hands on , dealing with people in a wilderness setting , making decisions to make sure everything works out .

  • Help

    Help

    There are almost too many things to specifically tell . from making beds to helping on our sawmill cutting timbers, or cleaning mountain horse trails that could take days on one trail or an afternoon to the top and back. Running farm equip. making hay or grading our 25kms of driveway. Helping on the 75 x 21 foot barge either fishing guests or taking horses across for the longer mountain rides. But always something :) We each learn to do every thing that needs to be done and work as a family team.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the main building we each have a separate room , much like a hotel room , when out in the mountains either a tent or tarp which can be quite comfortable next to the camp fire.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a third generation family which lives and operates a farm/tourism lifestyle lodge. We are working to get some traditional cultural trips established, hide tanning courses , wild food gathering and culture.

    The nearest community is 30 kms away and the nearest town is 4 hours driving so we limit our trips to town and stock up as much as possible but around 10 day intervals and you are welcome to help on the town trips , some over night and some one day trips. All outdoor activities are available at the base, fishing , swimming , hiking , horse back riding , shooting range , wildlife photography , as the setting is between the interior mountains and the Coast range mountains, exploring the mountains is one of the favorite. I enjoy and would hope that those around me enjoy also, I look only for a willingness to help and a happy attitude, all the rest I can teach how it works and have the joy of success shared by all of us. I like it when someone says they have never done it before and I can show them how I like to do it and know my old machines or horses like it also.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    The hours varry so much, some days when haying we work longer and other days we are riding around the lake on a big raft fishing ( is that considered work ? )






Host ref number: 644585582459