Experience a sustainable lifestyle on the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia

  • Favourited 167 times
  • Last activity: 13 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I live on the Sunshine Coast, Queensland just 40 minutes to the beach. West of Noosa.

    I am vegetarian [ can cater for vegan but not raw foodies as it is too expensive for me]] and everyone enjoys my food. My property is a smoking, drinking and drug free zone. I live a very simple sustainable lifestyle and have rain and solar panels on my roof. Healthy home cooked food, mostly organic but certainly spray free and home grown or locally grown. Large interesting library and educational DVD's. I have goats, chooks,and bees [so anyone who can help with them welcome]

    I have moved just across the road and now have two properties to look after so am looking for lots of helpers, especially to help with the vegetable gardens now we have had some rain.

    No smokers please, that includes vaping [I am sorry]

    Lots to learn, I practice Permaculture and biodynamics and sustainability. No chemicals used on property. I am setting up new gardens and would like to build some wicking beds because of our dry climate.

    I am taking singles or couples and have plenty of room if you have a van or camper. Everyone welcome.
    Hoping to hear from lots of interesting people soon.
    At the moment I am processing Bunya nuts which are a local bush food. They are abundant every 3 years so I am trying to get as many ready for making pesto, hommus, flour and just shelling the nuts and getting them into the freezer for the next couple of years supply.
    I am also looking for people who can help me get my property for sale as I can no longer manage it.
    Looking forward to hearing from people who are keen to learn new skills.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    How to live sustainably. Learn about bio dynamics and permaculture and bees. Meet lots of interesting people.

  • Help

    Help

    I HAVE HAD AN INJURY AND NEED SOME HELP to get my autumn gardens ready for planting. A FEW OR AS MANY DAYS AS YOU LIKE.
    I am also getting my property ready to sell so lots of help needed for that
    3 meals per day provided. Wheat free diet.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    double bedroom . Anyone is welcome with their own accommodation as I have plenty of space for them.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I teach Bio dynamics during the winter and practice permaculture and live sustainably.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours a week.

Host ref number: 235551731631

Feedback (3)



Photos

Feedback




Learn from an Aboriginal Vegan in NSW Australia
General housekeeping, gardening and school holiday help in Hobart, Australia