Help with the garden, painting projects and cleaning around the house in Roquebrune-sur-Argens, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 953 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    54  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello ! ... I'm David.
    A mature english guy who has discovered a serene paradise here in the forest hills of the Massif des Maures in the south of France.

    IMPORTANT UPDATE FOR OCTOBER 2022 :

    The house shown in here in the photographs is currently for sale and most of the heavy furniture has already been moved to my new house.
    I'm looking for helpers to organise and pack smaller household items and load onto trailers which I will then drive to my new house. The work is straightforward and varied...and you will have plenty of spare time to explore the beautiful surroundings. There is a lake and the small mountain/rock of Roquebrune-sur-Argens 5 km away which makes a nice daytrip. Or you can take the bus from Roquebrune to Frejus/Saint Raphael and the famous Cote d'Azur beaches for just €1,50.
    This workaway experience will be available for october and november. I am flexible on start and finish dates.

    This is 4.5 hours work per day/ 5 days per week, in exchange for your accommodation, food and drinks including moderate amounts of wine and beer

    While staying at the house you will be organising and cooking your own meals, but I will provide you with food and moderate amounts of wine/ beer/ drinks, etc.

    You will have your own private-sphere accommodation directltly in the house. This accommodation is limited to 2 places for singles or couples....and is offered on a first-come-first serve basis.
    The tiny stone cottage is situated 200 meters up in the peaceful forest with stunning views. I am 3.5 kilometers from the town of Roquebrune-sur-Argens.

    The property is rustical and off-grid, therfore...I have a limited supply of solar powered electricity - please note : internet access is limited. The water supply is via tanks supplied by the village water supply, (sometimes the water has algae and harmless microscopic water bugs due to ultra violet light) and is fine for showering and washing the dishes. Fresh drinking water is supplied in special cannisters but I do not have running water.
    There is a cold water shower in the house and a garden solar shower comprising of black solar water canisters which get hot by the afternoon. It's a Robinson Crusoe adventure style shower in the middle of nature !

    Staying at the house is very much a back-to-basics experience and perhaps not suitable for everyone, but if you love nature and the outdoors and have a sense of humour it will be a wonderful experience, (as you can see by the feedback).

    I never ask you to help more than 4,5 hours a day, (however this does not include meal times or cooking and washing up).

    PLEASE NOTE : I have had problems regarding consumption of alcohol which has sometimes spoiled the atmosphere for the other workawayers who drink in moderation !!!
    Alcohol is provided in moderate amounts, (enough for everyone to enjoy one or two glasse of wine or beer with the evening meal).

    A reasonable level of english, (enough for basic conversation) is important.

    If you can work well as part of a team of workawayers you are very welcome !

    And because it's more fun for both sides to know what to expect here's a guide to whether or not you will fit in with staying here and the type of work:

    I'm living in the middle of nature. Here are not just beautiful lizards, birds and butterflies, but also mosquitos and bugs, mice and rats. All these animals are part of the normal life in houses in the countryside. Keeping the rooms clean and the food mouse-safe gives them less of a reason to pay us a visit ;)
    In the summer time it can get really hot here and not every task can be done in the shade. Not to forget the mosquitos: they also don't like the heat and you'll find more of them in the shady areas.
    I'm living a simple and basic off-grid lifestyle, so you will definitely be stepping outside your comfort zone !

    Living here and being able to enjoy the peace of nature also means that there are no local shops, cafes etc. close by. The nearest town supermarket or bar/cafe is an hours walk away.

    I tend to buy seasonal fruit and vegetables and special offer food that is close to its sell by date. It's a great way not to waste food and to try something new. There is always plenty of food you can choose from but it helps a lot if you are not a fussy eater and enjoy any kind of food.


    Please ensure you have full medical travel insurance, it's for your own good and your responsibility.

    I hope to welcome you into soon!

    PLEASE NOTE : due to limited accommodation it is essential that you provide me with accurate arrival/ leave dates and that you really do turn up !!! Places are reserved on a first-come-first-serve basis and in the summer time I book up quickly !
    I suggest that 3 weeks is an ideal time for you to share with me and will give you a good opportunity to explore the surroundings. Of course you are welcome to stay longer if no other workawayers are arriving.

    You will have to make your way to Saint Raphael and then take a local bus, (no 4) to Garillans bus-stop on the outskirts of Roquebrune-sur-Argens. I will collect you from there.

    I look forward to welcoming you !!!

    David.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am easy going and offer you a fun time.... a healthy mixture of work, pleasure and relaxation in a very beautiful location.
    During your free time and on your days off you can take a bus, (which costs just €1.50 per journey) and explore the amazing Cote d'Azur coastline which is approximately 12km from away.

  • Help

    Help

    Please see the main descrition.

    Also, I am looking for guidance and supervision regarding sport.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have some small modern one-man tents provided with proper matresses to sleep on.
    Also a small, (but very modern/ comfortable caravan, (called a clip-car) in the garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's lots to see and do on the Cote d'Azur, not to mention the beautiful inland countyside of the Provence.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Please Note !....internet access is limited, so you will have to provide your own mobile data just in case.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have roadside parking.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4.5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.9)



































Host ref number: 211625837813