Hands on assistance on our acreage in the beautiful Windermere Valley, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A “trying to retire couple” (husband a cabinet maker/wood sculptor/log home builder) who recently returned from nearly two decades away now on fifteen acres with a log home, which needs a lot of work.

    Our location is amazing in that, though the property feels like living in the forest, it is located 10 kilometers away from the great small town of Invermere BC and numerous golf courses, hot springs, hiking trails and lakes. In the winter there are two ski hills, skating lake and skinny ski opportunities as well. The Banff/Lake Louise Alberta area is approximately a two hour drive away with more fantastic activities. The city of Calgary offers lots of urban activities as well three hours from us.

    Public transportation doesn’t reach us. If you have your own transportation that would be ideal though not mandatory. A driver’s license a necessity and there is use of a vehicle (manual transmission, four wheel drive pickup truck) for off hours. Rides into town/sidetrips available for sure.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    An interest in learning new skills or honing existing ones with respect to a rural renovation. A desire to learn and share knowledge regarding working with different types of wood, carving and woodworking. And balancing that with a love of the outdoors, and meeting new typically Canadian EH! folks would make this a great stay.

    We are happy to share our love of the valley and surrounding areas, as well as our family/friends and their wealth of knowledge and experience, on activities and places of interest for our helpers.

  • Help

    Help

    The property needs brush clearing, mowing and landscape love. In the house, the kitchen reno is underway with counters and epoxy/wood inlay, wooden decks and carport need replacing, exteriors all need work – a typical reno to an older home which “grows” projects with each step; some painting, staining, basic carpentry etc...

    We have recently acquired a portable sawmill for milling our own logs from our property so someone who would love to add this skill and learn along with us would be great. Basic experience with a chainsaw welcome for bucking up firewood etc.

    Help around the house, and with the dogs (three newfie mix pups 10 mos old and one senior malamute, (occasional fostering of rescued dogs/pups) of the very large furry kind very welcome too. Computer knowledge of social media and Wordpress would be awesome!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are asking for 24 hours per week (schedule flexible – hours can be banked ie....if you want to work a few full days to have full days off versus mornings or afternoons etc.)

    Accommodation is a private suite located above the shop 100 ft from the main house. It has a full kitchen, bedroom with king bed (linens and dishes etc. supplied), small office area or second bedroom, satellite TV, and deck with BBQ. Cute little wood burning stove. Laundry facilities available in the main house. As with the entire property, it could use some work as well but is quite comfortable. Lunch supplied on work days, helpers responsible for making their own breakfasts (food supplied). Shared dinners some nights and food supplied for self-preparation in suite kitchen for meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We work hard and are pretty chill. Low key lifestyle, generally early evenings. We try to be very respectful of other folks space and hope for the same. Prior to our return to Canada we hosted many work exchange individuals (often found through word of mouth) a positive experience with new found friends and family along the way. We are hoping that Workaway will help us with the same now we are home. We have both been fully vaxed with respect to Covid.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have satellite internet so though it is mostly solid, occasional thunderstorms and heavy weather can affect service for short periods of time.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Easily accommodate most sizes

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Friendly dogs welcome upon review - there are several on property already

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    24 hours weekly, fluid schedule to be discussed



Host ref number: 211375775967