Come and enjoy a cultural exchange on a small Canadian farm in Williams Lake, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 108 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    751

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    NEW UPDATE: This summer's farm projects are complete! Fall projects will include firewood cutting, garden harvest, hunting, butchering, the opportunity to learn about sheep raising, and perhaps pouring concrete to construct some small garden shedgs.

    Live on a small family farm in rural British Columbia. We have sheep and horses, dogs and cats as family pets. The farm is 20 minutes from the closest centre with services, boutique shopping and a regional airport.

    Having a drivers license is a must to allow you the freedom to explore the Cariboo. The area offers an abundance of outdoor activities from hiking and photography, to driving tours and camping.

    If you are a highly social person who loves the city and night life this is not the place for you; but if you are looking to learn about Canadian culture and enjoy the serenity of nature we look forward to welcoming you to our home.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will benefit from this exchange by learning Canadian small farm customs. We welcome the opportunity for visitors to practice their English, learn how to grow and preserve food, learn about foods in our culture for treats or healing and sheep husbandry. This exchange offers a rural family experience. We would love to learn new languages, new skills, cultural cooking and about your life.

  • Help

    Help

    Here are some ideas of what we are up to depending on the season:
    Yard work - raking lawns, splitting & cutting firewood, cleaning gutters & chimneys
    Animal Care - feeding & watering, shearing, trimming feet, lambing
    Fencing - putting up rails, installing & maintaining electric fences
    Gardening - planting, weeding, pruning, watering, harvesting, preserving
    House work - shopping, meal preparation, light cleaning, room renovations
    Winter preparation - garden harvest, food preservation, livestock butchering, hunting & gathering

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room and we have a separate bathroom (that you may have to share if another guest is here) with shared living space and kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our life is very independent and centres around the farm and rural outdoor life - you must enjoy quiet outdoors.

    In the summer we enjoy camping, fishing, weekend drives to cut firewood and explore. All of our meat and some of our produce is harvested naturally. In the fall we are butchering our lambs, hunting and processing meat, making sausage, drying herbs & berries, etc to put away food for the year. In the spring, the sheep are lambing so we are usually very close to home to watch over the new babies.

    We enjoy meeting people who are comfortable working independently or as a team, who are interested in different cultures/languages, are good with hunting and natural food harvesting and enjoy pets and livestock.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week















Host ref number: 574868421317