A stunning farm needs help not far from Budapest, Hungary

Country

Hungary

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Help needed as soon as possible! :)

    I'm Laci (59) I live in a farm, not far from the centre of Budapest (30km) in a beautiful region. I have three grown up children and a grandson, they visit me weekly, but I live alone. I keep cattles and some other animals(only for selling, not milk). I have 34 cattles, two donkeis, one sheep and a friendly cat (just outside the house). I cultivate pasture (50 hectare) and forest (10 hectare). My and my worker's daily routin is: controlling and repairing electric fence, watering and feeding cows (~30 heads of cattle), general maintanance around the house, chopping wood and cooking for my/ourselves. :)
    Once a year we come together and slaughter a cow and spend a nice day with family and friends, but it's not a slaughter-house at all.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn a lot about the traditional animal keeping in a stunning enviroment far enough from the noisy town. You can enjoy the singing of birds and voices of nature.
    I can help with hungarian or russian language and also I can teach you how to prepare traditional hungarian food.
    You can learn how to drive and controll a tractor. :)

  • Help

    Help

    I'm looking for help with controlling electric fence, watering cows (~30 heads of cattle), cleaning the grazing, property and around the house, lumbering, chopping wood and maybe cooking.
    The work is physical but we use masines for the hard work.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Hungarian: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A quite big, warm room with a double bed in my house with common kitchen and bathroom.
    Smoking isn't allowed in the house but the land is huge. ;)
    We can share cooking and meals. Usually I eat daily, if you are vegetarian, it makes things little difficult, but we can solve it!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The village is 15 minutes, the railway station is 7 minutes walking from the house.
    The village is small but the are restaurants, grocery, a gym and a nice curch. To get to the centre of Budapest only 40 minutes by train.
    If we pick up with each other after a few days it's possible to you to get my car on your days off to go to Budapest or just drive around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 196242934516