Gardening help and general maintenance in the heart of the Cotswolds, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 338 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Tom (English) and Nicola (New Zealand), a relaxed and friendly couple, and we live in the heart of the Cotswolds, 5 minutes from Burford and 25 minutes from Oxford. We have 3 grown up children who live in London and come home on some weekends.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would have the opportunity to discover one of the most 'quintessentially English' and unspoiled regions of England.

  • Help

    Help

    We have 10 acres which includes a field and an established garden. We are looking for some gardening help and general maintenance.

    Possible tasks that need doing - mowing lawns, chain sawing, weeding (always plenty of weeding), dry stone walling, spreading gravel, painting, general maintenance, plumbing, curtain/blind making. ( This is a list of all the jobs I want to do at some stage...dont be put off if you cant do all the jobs! It is just my wish list!) Or if you have a particular skill ....let me know.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house was built in 1678 and is a typical cotswold stone house in the middle of a small village. No shop but a very nice pub. You would have your own room and shared bathroom (but only if we have other guests staying). Meals plus wine and beer (in moderation) would be provided. We have internet, but being in the country it can be slow at times.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Housework - we have help with the housework so mostly you would not be expected to do any housework. You would be expected to keep your bedroom tidy, bathroom clean and generally respect our home.

    Cooking - I enjoy and do most of the cooking but but very happy to have help in the kitchen - preparing vegetables. laying the table and washing the dishes.

    Transport - there is local bus service 15 minutes walk away which would take you into Oxford and onto London and other parts of the UK.

    There is no smoking in the house but you can smoke in the garden.

    We are a friendly home, and love having friends and family stay. You would be included in any dinner or lunch parties that we had.

    We go to London 1-2 nights a week, so you would need to be happy being in the house on your own. We have 5 chickens that need feeding each day.

    We are 30 mins by bus to Oxford which is a wonderful city to explore and 1hr 30 by train to London.

    A good understanding of English and an ability to carry out instructions and to work on your own without supervision is essential.

    There are no fixed hours here - each day is different depending on the weather and/or particular tasks and projects that need to be completed. For our first 2 workaway stays we started the work day at 10am and worked till 1pm. An hour for lunch and then 2 more hours in the afternoon. But I would be equally happy if you wanted to start earlier or later. I am very flexible and it is important that you have free time to visit the area and enjoy yourselves ( lovely walks nearby and we have bikes you can use to cycle around the countryside). I want you to be happy here and to get as much as possible from your stay.

    I ask for a 5 day trial to ensure I feel happy that you will fit into my home and equally that you feel comfortable here.

    I am sorry we can't take children and couples or pairs of friends work well for us, as long as you are all prepared to work outside.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week











Host ref number: 196236611845