We'd love to meet you! So, come and 'Workaway' with us in Corsham, Wiltshire, South West England.


United Kingdom

Favourited 586 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Why not volunteer with us? Go on, make us an offer we can't refuse! You have nothing to lose and so much to gain! ;-)

    We are a fun-loving, caring family of four - Darrel (Dad), Sarah (Mum) and Meg (20) and Tom (17). We live in Corsham, Wiltshire. Corsham is a small town in the South West of England, not far from Bath. The Wiltshire countryside is beautiful. London is 90 minutes from us by train. It is a great base to explore from, Devon and Cornwall are easy train rides away too. We love house-swapping and enjoy travelling in Europe and Scandinavia. We welcome cultural exchanges and are happy to be a workaway host family. We are also interested in foreign languages.

    I would like to improve my German and would like to learn Spanish or Italian. We could help with English, if you'd like!

    We live a quiet life during school time and tend to be home in the evening. Our profile photos are a few years old now - the children are now young adults. Meg has just started her University studies and now lives away from home during term time. Tom is at Sixth Form (A Level education) and has a part time job working Saturdays. He also has football training Tuesday nights and football matches on a Sunday morning.

    Darrel (Dad) doesn't get home from work until 7pm. I (Sarah) am currently working 5 days a week. Tom and I are usually home by 15.45 most nights. More than ever I could use an extra pair of helping hands with housework, washing, ironing and cooking on a weekly basis. I also need help with the allotment (fruit and vegetable garden) and some decorating (painting). During holidays or weekends perhaps we could work on some bigger projects for the allotment (some edging stones need to be dug into place) or decorating and clearance projects in the house. I would really like to continue to sort the house out but it is difficult now working 5 days a week so we could really do with your help. Also, with Tom's sport and work commitments, Darrel and I are regular taxi drivers!

    We have had 15+ Workaway volunteers, aged 18-28yrs, since October 2015 - it has been a great experience for all involved. We have had fun, worked hard, shared many lovely meals together - we now have an ever increasing, extended European family and have had great language and cultural exchanges. We are very easy going, like to laugh and would really enjoy the help and the company. However, you will be home alone weekdays til 15.45(ish) so you need to be happy with that.

    We have found that the people who enjoy our place and the solitude of the weekdays most are usually degree students in their mid-twenties: our schedule enables them to study for Uni, try new skills here and have their own space and socialise as they choose. We cannot promise that we have lots of time to spend with you - sadly our combined lives are too busy - unless of course, you arrive during the Summer holidays when we have more time at home.

    We have an allotment where we grow fruit and vegetables for the family and a house that needs a bit of tender loving care. With that in mind, tasks could include housework, gardening, helping at the allotment, woodwork projects for the allotment (our skills are basic here), painting and decorating (with Mum), perhaps cooking for the family at least three evenings a week, general help in the house eg cleaning, washing and ironing etc

    Other than that, where we really need the help most of the year round, is with keeping the house clean and tidy and with help at the allotment. We won't demand too much of you, any help you can give would be very welcome. We do expect our volunteers to help the minimum hours stated as that is only fair - we have had one negative experience and it was unpleasant and created a bad atmosphere - something we don't want a repeat of.

    We have a cat and some fish, so if you have allergies or don't like fish we may not be the Workaway for you. We are a non-smoking family and would prefer non-smokers. Darrel works at Bath Spa Uni and is passionate about plants and fish. He is a trained Botanist, so the gardens are stuffed with plants. Sarah is a trained Primary School Teacher but supporting classes and intervention groups at the moment. Tom is keen on sport, especially football and badminton, he also enjoys languages and loves good comedy! Meg is very creative and enjoys art and textile projects as well as languages. She loves to bake cakes and biscuits. She has done her third Workaway experience this year. She learnt so much from Workaway experiences and made many good friends.

    We have always tried to encourage Tom and Megan to speak foreign languages when on holiday and they are both keen to learn, perhaps they will be able to learn from this experience too. If they could learn to cook with you that would be fantastic! Any skill transfer would be excellent.

    Where we live has good public transport connections to Bath and Chippenham. Chippenham train station is our local train station with good, regular connections to Oxford, London, Bath, Bristol, Cardiff, Exeter etc. As we usually house swap we are used to giving sight seeing / travel ideas to our exchange families, we would be happy to help you too. Schedules permitting, we could take you to some local places on days off. ;-)

    Please note that we can only accommodate one person at a time and make sure that you check our calendar to see our availability for 2018/2019.

    If you do volunteer to workaway with us you would have your own small bedroom and shared use of all basic facilities in the house. You would be very much part of our family while you are here! So, don't hesitate, just go ahead and contact us, we'll consider everyone who applies. See you soon! Take care! :-)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a kind, caring and respectful family with a keen interest in travel and culture and offering opportunities to others where we can. We look forward to welcoming workawayers as part of the family. We have made an amazing group of new friends through Workaway. Each volunteer has made a deep impression on us and our times together are remembered fondly. Volunteers have arrived as complete strangers but left as treasured friends.

  • Help


    If you are currently looking to volunteer with a family and you are happy to help with cleaning, washing, ironing, cooking, gardening, basic woodwork projects and possibly decorating then you are very welcome to come and sample life here in the UK with us! We can only host one person at a time.

    Help with the allotment where we grow fruit and vegetables
    General help in the house including cleaning, washing and ironing.
    Painting and decorating
    Clearing out roof space (loft)
    Cooking for the family three times a week (if you are new to cooking do not worry. If you are an expert, perhaps you could teach Meg and Tom some of your favourite dishes.
    Language practise
    If you are a carpenter, there are plenty of little woodwork projects for the allotment or around the house. If you are not then perhaps we could master a new skill together! :-)

    4/5hours 4/5days a week - we haven't really thought about a schedule yet but we think there could be an amount of flexibility e.g 4 or 5 days a week depending on whether you want to travel while you are here. Things tend to be flexible here to fit in with the changing needs of the family and their school / work / sporting commitments and Mum and Dad's energy levels! ;-)

    Getting here:
    Heathrow and Bristol are probably our closest airports and depending on arrival times and our commitments it is possible that we might be able to collect you from the airport but the transport facilities from both airports is very good. Our Workawayers have also used Stansted airport and caught an National Express Coach from there to London - Victoria Coach Station or London - Heathrow Airport where you catch a connecting coach to Corsham. Prices vary but it can cost as little as £22 depending on what time you are travelling. Megabus also operates on the Heathrow to Bath route and also stops in Corsham.

    If travelling by train, Chippenham is our nearest station and it's an easy bus ride from here, though again we'd be happy to pick you up if possible. It would depend on our commitments at the time. Bradford on Avon and Trowbridge are also reasonably local stations, it depends what part of the UK you are travelling from.

    Trains from London Paddington to Chippenham run very frequently.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, basic German, basic French

  • Accommodation


    Small single bedroom in the house. Shared use of all facilities.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a kind, caring and respectful family with a keen interest in travel and culture and offering opportunities to others where we can. We look forward to welcoming workawayers as part of the family. In return we hope that you will be respectful of our house and understanding of our family as well as being willing to help with tasks.

    In return for your help we will offer you your own small bedroom in our house and meals. It would be lovely if you cooked meals for us, perhaps three nights a week. We eat both vegetarian and meat dishes.
    Non-smokers and individuals who have lived away from home preferred.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week (though this can be flexible for travel purposes)

Minnie, our tiger!
Happy families!
Go on, come workaway with us. You won't regret it!
Happy children!
Birthday boy!
Camping pod in the Lake District. Spot the dog!
Meg and Tom just chilling. ;-)
Artistic licence!
Summer silliness in Kas, Turkey.
Mum and Dad relaxing for once!
Now silver-haired but young at heart and enjoying a family night out.
Sarah (before they turned me grey), Meg and Tom a few years ago!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 194327442219