Help us to renovate traditional Japanese house and explore local culture in Shizuoka, Japan

Country

Japan

new host  

Favourited 68 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/02/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We (Tatsuya and Sho) inherited 1ha(2.5acre) of mountain field and an old Japanese traditional house last year in Shizuoka, where we live with our daughter Mon(age1) and a black cat. We are planning to reproduce field and orchard in organic way to grow vegetables, and to renovate an old house and a guest house with natural materials.

    We finished a big honeymoon (2015~2017 around the world) and came back to Japan.
    During 2years honeymoon, we did Workaway / WWOOFing in Japan, U.S, Spain, Germany and Morocco.
    we met various kinds of people and shared stories with them.
    We saw how people live, what people believe.
    And this time, we would like to share the experience in our place.

    ・About schedule
    We usually ask for work from 9:00 to 11:30 and from 13:00 to 15:30. (plus housework sometimes)
    But it's flexible. It's depends on the project/ depends on your situation.

    ・About accommodation
    We live a small house now and can offer you private room but shared kitchen/bathroom.
    we're planning to finish renovation of a guest house by summer.
    If the guest house has done, we'll offer you to stay there.

    ・About meals
    We normally cook and eat together. (can be separate sometimes)
    We prepare ingredients. But it's also flexible if you have special dietary requirements.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can share the experience of learning how Japanese traditional house was built; like restore earth walls and Doma(kitchen floor). Also we can share the information and ideas about nature-friendly way for farming, clothing, heating and electricity and so on.
    You may get a chance to learn how to make Japanese traditional food like Miso, Umeboshi...

  • Help

    Help

    Building projects: renovating a Japanese traditional house for community space and a cottage for guest house.
    Garden project: weeding and seeding in kitchen garden and field, weeding and maintaining a small orchard, making a compost.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Japanese: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    private room

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 194144864347