updated  

Help us with gardening, DIY and permaculture projects in our idyllic farm in Hesselager, Denmark

  • Favourited 44 times
  • Last activity: 22 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    My husband Lasse and I (Mila) fell in love in 2021 in the farm and the area in Bøsøre in Funen in Denmark. Here is idyllic peace and quiet, magnificent nature and plenty of culture and of course the Stoebælt (the longest bridge in Denmark) and beach in the front garden.

    I am working as IT specialist while Lasse works as chief consultant full time. In our sparetime we are realizing our dream of establishing one of Denmark's first sustainable, organic nut plantations of approx. 10 hectares. We have planted trees and bushes in the winter of 2022-2023 and arranged the plantation with many different varieties and biotopes with flowers etc. to create good conditions for biodiversity.

    We have always some projects going on in the farm. It can be gardening, building chicken house, restore an old furnitures, painting the house so on, organizing the stables. In the farm we like to keep our garden wild for the small insects, birds and so on. So you will find a insecthotels and insectbuffets around and our own small forest.

    We love meeting new people and are very approachable. Lasse enjoys chess, while I prefer fun and party games. We both play badminton and are planning to set up a court in our backyard. During the summer, we rent out our farm while staying in our small two-room annex next door. All rental profits go towards supporting our nut plantation.

    We look forward to welcoming you to our farm and sharing our dream with you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am Azerbaijani and Lasse is from Denmark. So we have to cultures meeting allready in our farm. By being here you will learn both cultures. We will like to show you around, make danish food, we can also teach you danish if you like. We have good experience of gardening and building stuff. We do not have any experience by having animals so we will learn together. Our guests tells us our place is unique. But come and see for your self. :) In the garden there is peace and idyll all day. At night there is "dark sky" with plenty of opportunities to see shooting stars or cozy up by a fire. Even though you are in county side, it is located centrally on East Funen. 20-25 minutes to Nyborg, Svendborg and the South Funen archipelago. We have cars which you can loan or we can drive you around. We have also bikes.

    We also enjoy eating good food. Lasse makes really good indian and danish food. While I like to bake cakes :)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have different projects. Usually physically tough work. yard/field maintenance, tidying up warehouses, building chicken house, general house keeping, cutting wood for the winter, painting.
    There will always be other projects as well, so please dont hestitate to write.

  • Languages spoken

    Azerbaijani: Fluent
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the farm we have 6 bedrooms, to Livingroom and to bathrooms. All of the rooms has a good quality beds. We will need 2 of the rooms and rest of the will be available. We have our cat Nadja leaving in the house while other cats leaves in the stable. Since the previous owner had caws we have to big stables :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transport: we have bicycles which you can borrow to the closets city and take the bus from there . Otherwise we have cars and we can offer to give you ride.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 724718176444

Feedback (8)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Come help care for our non-profit organisation, tucked in a peaceful oasis in Ebeltoft, Denmark
Join our surfer family of five and help with childcare near Thisted, Denmark