Help me restore a stone house and enjoy a magic garden in Flores island, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there! My name is Jaen, Franco-Mexican living in the middle of the Atlantic with my partner, cat and chickens, on Flores island, a magical tiny spot of land overflowing with fresh water and abundant in stunning landscapes.

    If you are looking to spend time in nature, retreat yourself, meet new people and you are familiar with construction, here is the perfect spot!

    I have a beautiful land with a private cozy cabin to receive you (see pics), and I just bought a stone house not far from here that needs to be restored into a liveable house… that’s where you jump in and help me (more details below)!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Apart from work, there is of course a lot to discover around the island! There are some nice hiking trails (official and non-official), a lot of fresh water bodies in which to swim, also the sea is not far from here. There is a lot of cool people to meet, and astonishing landscapes to contemplate! I will introduce you to people and take you around to discover parts of the island.

    I speak 5 languages, if you feel like practicing one, I'm here!

  • Help

    Help

    I bought an old stone house in Fajazinha that needs a lot of help in order to make it liveable.

    The main work would be dedicated to renovating the house, but also some gardening work would be part of the deal.

    Other works as for example in my land where the cabin is are to be expected.

    You’ll be working about 20 to 25 hours per week, with flexible use of them throughout the week, depending on materials, needs, weather, etc.

    Qualities looking for:

    Easy going, organised, clean, tidy, proactive, motivated, hard worker, strong
    Have notions/experience in construction

    I can host you for: 1 week trial, max. stay: 3 weeks

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll be hosted on your own in my cozy cabin surrounded by a big beautiful garden. You’ll have an external hot shower and dry toilets. Electricity comes mainly from solar panels, and it is enough to have light, charge computers and phones, if not enough (very common from autumn to spring), I have a battery charger at home. There is no fridge. Laundry, I’ll make it for you.

    The cabin has one double bed in the mezzanine, a kitchen corner a tiny living room and a desk.

    The cabin is not far from the house to restore: about 25 minutes waking, 5 minutes by car. The walk is very nice. Some times I’ll give you a lift, others you'll walk or use my bike.

    I'll be living in my partner's house in Ponta da Faja and would come to the garden every now and then to work in it with you and we could organize gatherings with friends for pizza evenings (there is a wood-fire oven) or bon fires.

    My cat decided to stay in the land (I tried to bring him to my partner's house but he escaped and came back ;-) ), so you'll have to be an animal lover, cause he is very cuddly and likes to sleep on the bed.

    I have bees so you shouldn't be allergic to them.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your time off you won’t get bored if you like to be in nature!
    - There are many official and non-official trails lo explore
    - You can go swimming or snorkelling (I can lend you some material if it fits you)
    - Trips to Corvo (the island in front of Flores) exist daily, and you should definitely do that
    - You can go canyoning

    Other nice things you could do:
    - If you need a massage that’s my work here (you’ll have a discount or we can find a deal)
    - Jam sessions on the land of a German friend on the first Sunday of each month
    - Make pizza in my wood-fire oven!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    If you have pets and want to bring them, lets talk about this to see if it will work!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 192635866489