Enjoy a relaxing stay in the centre of New Zealand, with easy access to the rest of the country.

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 298 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Robyn and I are in our 60s - Robyn is a nurse, and I am a teacher. We have two adult daughters who are now living in Australia.

    We have a large house, with a large section and great areas for entertaining. We are within easy walking distance of all amenities, and only 3 kms from our lovely local beach. I am into my music, photography, computers and cooking, and Robyn loves walking, reading and is interested in alternative health.

    We're pretty relaxed and easy-going people. Our home is not one of those places where everything is always perfectly neat and tidy - we prefer comfort to fuss.

    We would really like Workaways who aren't too fussy about food. We enjoy our cooking and eating, and we enjoy a wide variety of foods and styles. We eat a lot of vegetarian and seafood and spicy Asian food. We also enjoy a bit of red meat on occasion. It would make things a lot easier if those staying with us were happy to eat whatever we happen to be eating. :-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a large section that needs quite a bit of maintenance from time to time. There is firewood to be split and stacked for next winter, decks to be cleaned, gardens to be weeded and mulched, trees to be pruned. And there's always basic housework and cleaning to be done around the place.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a private area that is separate from the main house, which includes 2 double bedrooms and a lounge area. This used to be our daughters' living space when they were teenagers, so it's not all that up-market, but it's warm, comfortable and spacious.

    The lounge has its own widescreen TV and blu-ray play and full wireless internet access is available throughout the house.

    Out in the back yard we have a lovely barbecue and entertainment area that is a great place to relax and enjoy a meal and a few drinks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This would probably suit a couple of friends travelling together, as there is plenty of space to share, and the workload could be shared too. Also, female volunteers might feel more comfortable that way.

    If you enjoy food - of ALL types - you should enjoy your stay here. :-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Me (Simon)
A private lounge for guests to relax in.
Here's the other spare bedroom.
Here's one of the rooms available
Another shot of our beautiful beach.
Part of our back yard. The barbecue area is just out of frame.
Our beautiful beach
Here's Robyn.







Host ref number: 191665882775