Garden, property & home DIY in the Southern Gulf Islands, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 927 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/11/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    352

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    89.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    COVOID update: if you are not currently in Canada and travelling from other Countries including USA I can not confirm any space until the travel restrictions are lifted or work permits are issued .

    Garden and home DIY is on the work a way exchange program.

    Thetis Island is the most central and accessible Island in the the Gulf Islands which are located between Vancouver Island and mainland British Columbia. We have 5 acres of waterfront forested Property.
    We are in our 3rd season as work away hosts and really enjoy our helpers in the garden and house.
    We have a large house and garden that requires constant attention. We need help with firewood, DIY clean up, painting, raking leaves and cleaning up branches.

    Allergy alert: We have 2 cats a dog and 3 bee hives

    Your accommodation private cabin with a loft bed , bathroom and small kitchen.


    Thetis is a small Island of 350 people in the winter 1200 in the summer. If you enjoy solitude this is the place!
    There is No down Town --- there is one convenience store and a farm stand.
    Although it is quiet, the locals are very friendly and there are activities at the pub.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in the Coast Salish Peoples territory. Learn about first nations culture. Enjoy learning how to fish, harvest seafood organic gardening and building. We have some of the largest trees in Canada here and there are plenty of walking trails. Try kayaking or set up camp on a remote island ( we can take you there by boat in the summer. There is a lot of wildlife here; eagles, otters, whales, seals, but no bears or cougars - so you are safe to explore. It is a unique lifestyle here living in a ferry dependent community where everyone knows you by name.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Garden care: weeding, watering, harvesting, lawn care, raking leaves, cleaning, gutters painting.
    Housework: vacuuming, washing floors, windows, waxing showers, cleaning tiles.
    Fire wood and brush clearing

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private small cabin with sleeping loft, bathroom and kitchen.
    Garden and pantry basics

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are several affordable ferry's running daily to Chemainus- home of the World Famous Murals and close to the Cowichan Valley -noted for it's vineyards and artisans. Victoria is just over an hour away. The best way to get here from Vancouver by is taking A 15 minute float plane ride. Vancouver flights leave 4 times daily @ 120 . The scenery is worth the trip. google up Thetis Island and check out our community blog for information about where we live.
    Tofino- popular for surfing, camping, whale watching, spirit bears and wolves, is a couple hours away and there are many alpine ski areas. If you are on Facebook have a look at the group "take a hike Vancouver Island - "it is really a great site for learning about the many trails at our door step.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have power and water hook up

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours/week- no food, 25 hours/week- food

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



















Host ref number: 877489153413