Small kiwi lifestyle block awaits you :) Canterbury, NZ

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/01/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking to host someone or a couple for 8 days in Feb or March 2020.

    We offer breakfast, lunch and dinner, and a private room, full use of laundry, bathroom, kitchen etc in exchange for 5hrs work/day (2days off). We can also take you into the city to join Simon's free walking tour one day.

    We have a baby due in May so looking for someone who is willing to help us get through a list of maintenance and cleaning tasks. We would like to host someone who pays particular attention to detail and can work well on their own. The jobs we will require help with are: weeding, spring cleaning the house, cleaning our deck, sanding the play fort and cooking. Please only contact us if you are happy to complete those jobs to a high standard.

    We own a small kiwi lifestyle block in Broadfield (between Hornby and Rolleston).
    Si and I have been travellers and workawayers ourselves, we know what it takes to make our home a good experience for you! We offer flexible working hours as well as help with transport. Si is a NZ wide tour guide and can offer advice on activities and places to see in NZ. I'm a psychologist working in a highschool. We like to share meals and different cuisines. If you interested in helping us out, please email us a little bit about yourself.

    This is a country homestay, 1 hour walk from the bus stop. Simon works in town and you would be welcome to catch a ride with him on your days off. He also runs free city walking tours which you are welcome to join!

    We live with three other kiwi flatmates, so we must be mindful of bathroom time between 4pm - 8pm when everyone arrives home from work.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have both grown up in Canterbury New Zealand, and travelled for a few years. We are happy to share our typical kiwi lifestyle with you and we can also learn from you. We like to share traditional meals and stories at dinner time :) Simon is a tour guide and when he is home he can share lots of tips about where to visit in New Zealand and secret hot spots.

  • Help

    Help

    We require a mix of help depending on your skills. We ask our workawayers to help with gardening (weeds, planting, bringing in firewood etc), cleaning (those extra jobs we don't get time for such as windows, cars etc) and cooking. If there are some interested builders we'd love some help with some outdoor building jobs.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, (learning Italian)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have one private single bedroom available inside our home. We have a shared bathroom with 5 others (although we are all away a lot during the day working). You are welcome to use all household facilities washing machine, kitchen etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We ask for 4-5hrs help per day, with 3 meals per day included. We are VERY flexible - if you want to help 8hrs for two days to have a long time off in a row that is fine. We will help as best we can with transporting you. We are a 1hour walk from the nearest bustop, 15min bike or 5mins by car and we are happy to drive you as much as we can on our way to and from work etc. We prefer short stays of less than one month.

    If you would like to stay with us please send us an email with some information about yourself. We are looking for friendly, honest, good-humored people with a great work ethic and integrity.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 186743639949