Help with some outdoor tasks and prepping for the winter with vibrant family in Abbotsford, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I have 3 grown daughters who come by frequently with their husbands and kids. We also have 2 small, well-behaved, and friendly dogs. Millie loves cuddles and food, and Penny loves her ball and my husband. My sweet husband is gentle-natured and loves music, aviation, geology, video games, craft beer, and our family, We have a business that does vinyl and leather repair, upholstery, and furniture repair. I provide a lot of support to extended family and really love gardening, cooking, preserving, brining, and fermenting. I used to have stressful jobs and built a business, and now have slowed down and do the backend work for our business. We have travelled quite a bit and love different cultures and foods. I cook a wide variety of fusion foods from scratch. I don't like premade stuff. We live in a home with 2 extra bedrooms and 3 bathrooms.

    We have a backyard with a garden that went nuts this year and I had a hard time keeping up with it on my own. Our backyard is pretty private and has some nice sitting decks. We live in Abbotsford which is 1 hour from Vancouver, and close to lots of beautiful places outdoors. We enjoy green spaces and going to the outdoors for picnics, walks, etc. We have two new Rad Ebikes that we can lend out and can be taken on nearby trails or to shops. One of our daughters and her family live on Hatzic lake and have chickens, ducks, and rabbits and lots of woods around them. We enjoy working together during the day, visiting during dinner time, and quiet evenings. We have a make yourself at home policy but I cook a good meal every night and often lunch as well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are very friendly and you would have contact with a variety of ages of people. I love teaching any skills I have and would be completely open to teaching fermenting, canning, brining, cooking, dehydrating or whatever. My husband could teach some of his trade if that was of interest. I have a son-in-law who was a manager of a hop farm, one that is a linguist, and one that works at the local university overseeing admissions. My eldest daughter started a sustainable clothing business and designed everything she carried and now works as a volunteer coordinator, one works as a food self-sufficiency lead for a local indigenous band and is working on her masters in disaster management, and the last one is a gifted writer and works for Molson managing payroll and a bunch of other stuff. I have mentored many business owners and know how to do small business start-ups. As a family, we have an appreciation for back-to-basics, the outdoors, fishing, and sustainability, and we value respect and kindness for all peoples.

  • Help

    Help

    We need some help in garden clean-up from the summer and prepping for the winter. The major part is the painting of decks and exterior trim. I also have a dream of getting some decent automatic irrigation, but that may be a spring project.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    While we are rather pathetic at other languages our adult children aren't and one son in law knows 3 fluently and another number quite well.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two spare bedrooms. One with a single bed, closet, and dresser, and one with a double bed, closet, and dresser. The home has 3 bathrooms but the shower bathroom needs to be shared. There is a recreation room in the basement with a TV, a laundry room, and nice outdoor seating. I will show options for breakfast and let people make their own. I can likely make lunches - especially on days work is being done. I will make dinner and would appreciate some help with cleanup.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Vancouver is 1 hour, Whistler is 2, Hope (lots of beautiful hikes, waterfalls etc) is 1 hour east. We have ebikes that can be used at any time for local exploration and trails and we can drive to some other locations once a week. In Mission (15 min away) there is a train that goes to Vancouver and I could drop you off there. Abbotsford airport is only 15 minutes away and by connecting through Calgary you can go almost anywhere. There are some direct flights to Toronto.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have excellent wifi and space to spread out. There is an office that is available when I am not working in it.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 181186454595