Help with renovation and maintenance of a Victorian Country Manor House and Gardens in Wales, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 326 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
  • Description


    We are a large multi-cultural family (4 adult children and 2 adopted chinese girls) and we enjoy meeting people from other countries from all backgrounds.

    We live in a large Victorian manor house surrounded by lawns, pond and walled Victorian kitchen garden. The grounds are located within the beautiful countryside of Mid-Wales among sheep, hills and wildlife.

    The house and grounds (inside and out) require a lot of routine maintenance and, additionally, we are still in the process of restoring and renovating the house and gardens.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • Help


    We are looking for people experienced in building and renovation work to help us with our restoration project: builders, carpenters, plumbers, electricians, painters and decorators, etc.

    We are also looking for enthusiastic people with a good work ethic and an ability to learn quickly and to work independently once shown what to do (this is more important than experience). Some of the routine tasks can be quite repetitive (such as weeding and raking large areas or cleaning lots of windows) although this will be mixed with a variety of other work. A good sense of humour and positive attitude are therefore needed.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    You will be staying in the main house in one of our lovely rooms and have shared access to facilities. There is a good Wi-Fi connection.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The local village is 3 KM away and from there you can take a bus to the nearest town (Newtown) 8 KM. From Newtown, you can take a train to anywhere in Britain.

    Locally, there are plenty of walks and places to visit, especially old castles, ruins and historical sites.

    We are experienced hosts, but only registered with Workaway in 2015. We have had quite a few people help us in the past from many different cultures, such as Daniel from Canada, Judit from Hungary or Ling from China. Here is what they and others said about the experience:

    Helper: Yulia
    From: Russia Date: August 15, 2014
    I spent 5 days with Laura, John and the family. They are lovely people who always try to share their love with others. The
    most exiting thing what I've done was one hundred of blinis (Russian pancakes) to celebrate the life of the close friend of
    John and Laura family. And it was very interesting for me.
    I was impressed how much Laura knows about Imperial Russia. She showed me her huge archive of rare books of this period of Russian history and film "Russian Ark" as well, what I haven't seen before. Laura presented me one of her books which now adorns my collection. Thank you very much! Waiting for you in Moscow.

    Helper: Jose
    From: Spain Date: July 14, 2014
    It has been my first experience as a helper and I really could not be more satisfied and happy. Laura and John are
    excellent hosts, and both they and the rest of the family, who are lovely, made ??me feel at home from day one.
    The work I performed was very pleasant and varied, and included work from farm to electricity, carpentry, painting or
    gardening, and always with excellent manners without pressure from them. I've learned a lot from John and his experience.
    The house is very large, and there is always something to do, so you do not get bored, and the setting is spectacular, with many routes to explore, walk around, take pictures or just relax.
    So I follow my journey as a helper, feeling the satisfaction that I have been very fortunate in my first helper experience
    meeting Hosts as John, Laura and their family.
    I will miss you very much all of you including Tobby, Laura meals,her teaching of English, work with John, your family, our
    paelas together, my trips around and ... the sound of the horses down from the top of the hill.
    See you, I,ll back very soon.
    Gracias de corazón. Jose

    Helper: Hui-ju
    From: Taiwan Date: May 20, 2014
    This is a very beautiful place , the house looks like a castle.
    I stayed here for 3 weeks.Living here is amazing,The whole family are very friendly,welcoming.
    Laura always cooks a lot of delicious food. We talked about life,work,attitude...She is a woman of great wisdom!
    John loves to make wines , cherry wine is my favorite!
    When I left he gave me a bottle of cherry wine! I really love it!He is like a superman can fix anything~
    Mina and Evie are very polite and pretty girls.
    I love this place and whole family. I did enjoy living here!
    Hope someday you will visit Taiwan,I would be very welcoming!
    we keep in touch!

    Helper: Judit
    From: Hungary Date: April 15, 2014
    John, Laura and the girls are very welcoming family.
    They live in a nice Victorian house,surrounded by beautiful countryside. I did a variety of jobs, pruning , weeding, raking
    cut grass. I also did some cleaning in the house and cleaned lots of windows.
    In my free time I visited Powis Castle. It is a medieval castle with a beautiful garden.I had a nice day in Shrewsbury as
    We had great dinners together and I met a few friends of the family.
    Thank you, I hope to visit again one day.

    Helper: Daniel
    From: Canada Date: March 6, 2014
    It was such a pleasure staying with John and Laura. The whole family was so welcoming. It was a very relaxed environment. I worked outside most of the time which was great, even though it rained all day... Welcome to Wales! It was great fun to see the progress of the work and just be outside.
    The conversations were always a pleasure as both John and Laura are very funny and wise. John introduced me to all his
    tasty wines and I'm now inspired to make my own wine. Laura inspired me to take more advantage of charity shops. The art of recycling! And the food she made was always delicious and plentiful. The nights we went out to meet with their friends were always fun and I wish I could have witnessed one of the infamous fronfaith hall raves.
    Thank you and I'm sure I'll be back again someday.

    Helper: Esteve
    From: Spain Date: January 20, 2014
    Spending 3 weeks with John, Laura and the rest of the family (Evie, Mina, Sean, etc.) was on of the most enriching
    experiences I've ever had.
    They were caring and they made me feel as part of the family form the minute I got there. I did different activities with
    them, visiting other towns and villages, castles, going shopping, playing football... and I enjoyed them all very much.
    The jobs I got to do there weren't hard at all! Cleaning, painting, gardening... I felt comfortable doing them all.
    The house and the whole area is very beautiful.
    They also helped me with my English and I tried a lot of new food thanks to them as well as attending some parties.
    If you're a looking for a good family and a beautiful location in Wales, come here!

    Helper: Ling
    From: China Date: December 25, 2013
    Hey John and Laura,
    Thank you very much for having me for 9 days. You guys are fantastic open-minded person. I have been enjoying everyday physical work so much, cleaning bathrooms while singing, cooking while chatting, feeding chickens and sawing while enjoying the beautiful outside view. The work here is pretty easy and I end up feeling I am part of the family. I love you guys so much! And the two little babe Mina and Evie are always polite and cute. This family is pretty cool and amazing. Laura is a woman with great mind and young heart and true wisdom. I learned a lot from her. And John is a man who knows everything. He can make various home-made wine. Laura and John always want to make sure you enjoy staying here. We also enjoyed the big Christmas house party a lot, meeting lots of their alternative friends.
    Thank you very much for making me feel at home. And you are my English mother and father. Love you.
    Come China and visit me!

    Helper: Jack and Caroline
    From: United Kingdom Date: September 27, 2013
    John and Laura have a lovely home and their family are welcoming. The area is very tranquil, we really enjoyed staying
    there. We did a variety of jobs such as mowing and collecting grass, cleaning, cooking and helping restore one of the rooms in the mansion. We enjoyed some lovely evenings with the family drinking home-made wine and great food! There was also an outdoor shower!
    We will definitely stay again if we are in Wales!!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 177739627714