Enjoy the beach and help us with our home chores, grandma and the children in Torres, Brazil



Favourited 100 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
  • Description


    First of all THANKS FOR YOUR INTEREST but mind that you must come to our home with an open mind and specially with a big and wide open heart!
    This IS a volunteering project we all make part of and we will treat you as family. Please don't come to us if you have an idea that we are going to explore you or something like that. We are here in this world to help each other. You help me and I help you. I help you and you help me. Then we become friends, family, humans!

    Sadly we prefer the volunteer to stay for ONE WEEK only, maybe two if we get along nicely during the first one. If you need to stay longer we can talk about it, concerning food expenses... WE also HAVE SOME RULES THAT THE VOLUNTEER NEEDS TO FOLLOW otherwise can be asked to LEAVE the house... One of the most important rules is that DRUGS AND ALCOHOL ARE FORBIDDEN during the volunteering. Other rules can be explained in advance by message or when the volunteer gets to the house. We are also not used to be asking others, all the time, to help us so the volunteer needs to be PROACTIVE and show his or her are really interest on helping... We don't like people standing in the middle of the way "just wondering" during their volunteering time, while the family is working hard to put food on our bellies and a roof over our heads. We will try always to be honest and objective in communicating and assigning tasks but of course we will be always open to new ideas and REAL actions. This profile might seen to be hard but the staying hopefully won't be so tough ;o)

    We are a young family looking for a friendly hand on daily tasks as watching a house, playing with the kids and helping them on their school work, cleaning and gardening.
    We work with lots of love in our own home artisan bakery and sell our products in two street fairs and in local markets all year long and at the beach during summer on an adapted bike. So, some help on that can be also required if the volunteer feels up to.
    We make whole breads of natural fermentation, functional cakes, artisan pizzas, healthy snacks, mostly vegan or vegetarian.
    P S.: We are not vegetarian but we are trying to change habits and eat healthier.

    It will be a pleasure to welcome you here!
    P.S.: Although we offer all the food for our meals in the house, if you are up to help buying any ingredient to add, and share with us, we will be very thankful and pleased.

    About us: My name is Ester, I'm 40 years old and I'm gaucha native of Porto Alegre. Together with my husband Maicon, 34, also from the southern part of Brasil - but more for a surfer than for a "gaudério" - we formed a beautiful family with two enlightened children (Kauê, a 6 years old boy, and Mariá, a baby born in the middle of the year of 2018).
    We also have in this family the illustrious presence of Grandma Selma, my 83-year-old mother, two happy dogs and two lazy cats.

    We love to work, travel, play, surf, chill at the beach, eat well and enjoy the nature.

    If you do not speak Portuguese, I will notice you that I am the only one who speaks English and Spanish fluently in the house but my husband and older son do understand Spanish and they even do good on that.

    Not long ago we were traveling and volunteering in South America for a year and a half and now with the coming of the second baby we are living here and working with what we love - food and people - for a period, until we have the opportunity to hopefully enjoy a new adventure.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Although my husband smokes out of the house, and we drink socially, I have preference for non-smoking volunteers. DRUGS and ALCOHOL is definitely BANNED in the house. I WILL ASK THE VOLUNTEER TO LEAVE IMMEDIATELY IF THIS RULE IS BROKEN.

    NÃO É PERMITIDO TRAZER DROGAS E ÁLCOOL PARA DENTRO DA CASA, E EU (como mãe e responsável por zelar da segurança de todos aqui, inclusive da sua) MANDAREI EMBORA OS QUE NÃO RESPEITAREM ESSA REGRA.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located in Praia de Itapeva, Torres - Rio Grande do Sul. A wonderful place for lovers of the sea, nature and extreme sports. We are very close to a beach known for its natural beauty, and many other beaches, parks and lakes.
    In addition you can enjoy or better know a type of healthy and functional bakery. Inclusive you can learn how to make our breads and cakes on your free time during nights and take it to your life!!

  • Help


    We need help during the day in many areas but basically it is cleaning in general, cooking, playing with the kids, caring for grandma, gardening and helping us on our bakery. We usually star working in the morning and the volunteer ends up the day shift by washing lunch dishes and cleaning up quickly the kitchen after we eat.
    We need someone responsible, respectful and PROACTIVE to help keeping the house clean and tidy. You have to like children and animals.
    If you choose to volunteer with us, you should keep in mind that the little ones require a lot of love, playfulness and patience, as well as someone who knows how to say NO and have a careful eye!

    We will always want you to have a pleasant, relaxed and peaceful work and stay. So if anything bothers you WE need to know (tell us!) so that way we can solve any question.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We would love if the volunteer tried to teach some foreign language to our kids.

  • Accommodation


    A place to set a tent in the garage or a mattress inside our house. Our home is big, clean, sunny, airy, high-spirited, but we don't have private rooms. Food is included as part of the exchange for volunteering, including eating with our family on your days off if you decide to stay at home. Also products left over from our marketing on a daily basis may perhaps be consumed at times of outside work in case we decide to take you on a tour such as family outings, beach picnics, etc.
    NOTE: The volunteer will "check in" showing his or her passport for the security of all at home and will receive clean bed sheets to use and a neat and hygienic toilette to share. Before leaving the house, on his or her last day, the volunteer will clean up the area where slept during the week and take care to leave the toilet clean, so we can offer a decent place for the next virtuous traveller. If you are not OK with that rule please don't loose time contacting us. We would like to receive the area back as clean as you have received, or even better if posible. This is Permaculture!!!
    Remember when you apply to a volunteering project, as the name already says, WORK-AWAY you have to be UP to help others that are openning their home (and hearts in our case) for you!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can walk or get an Uber to different beaches, dunes, or to a big lagoon, or even go by bus to the center of Torres, and from there take any other bus to several beaches, lakes, ponds or green valleys around. We are also nearby to a big lagoon to fish, have a picnic or take a refreshing swim.
    Oh! We have an old Wolksvagen Kombi so family trips can happen if everybody feels up to!
    Come and enjoy your staying with us!
    We will be very happy to make a new friend, brother or sister!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our internet or WiFi signal sometimes doesn't run very well. But it usually does good.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Feel free to come with your van or motorhome. We have a large yard!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We love pets but we cannot be responsible if our dog decides to catch yours! Hehehe

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 175169497512