Help us out and enjoy this beautiful mountain sites in Veracruz, Mexico



Favourited 293 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
  • Description


    We Herbert and Oliva are a retired couple living in the northern mountain range of Veracruz, away from the beaten path, at the edge of a small town (aprox. 9 000 inhabitants). I am German and my wife is Mexican. We are well traveled and still travel a lot.
    Our house is on 15 000 m2 fenced land and there is always something to do with maintainance, gardening and carpentry. I am a hobby carpenter myself.
    We have 5 dogs (a pair of german shepherds and 2 frenchpoodle females (mini) and a Fox Terrier) So you should love dogs and can get along with them.
    We have a couple of employees living in a separate house on the ground.
    We live in a very nice region, which offers excellent opportunities for hiking and sightseeing.
    The town we live in, has bus service from Mexico City and Tulancingo. Tulancingo is the next bigger town (about 2.5 hours away).
    We love to know people from different backgrounds and cultures and to learn from them.
    Some experience in carpentry and general maintainance would be great, as also some experience in WEB site design.
    We accept one work awayer or a couple.
    We have no preconception regarding age.

    An international health care insurance policy, valid through the length of your stay.
    Some sturdy shoes and long pants when working in the garden.
    Some warmer clothes. In the evening it´s getting a bit cool, as we are about 2 200 m high in the mountains.
    Depending on the time span you are visiting us, some raincoats. You better check with us for some more detailed recommendations, once you are accepted.
    If you smoke, you should do this outsides and dispose the remainings in the garbage.
    Moderate drinking is no problem, excess will be. No drugs allowed.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    General maintainance work, carpentry (some furniture) and gardening. If it’s a couple, some housekeeping from the couple (cooking and clean up). 5 hours a day Monday to Friday, although we may be flexible on it. You may accumulate hours and take one more day off for sightseeing etc. In exchange you get free accommodation and food. Normally Mexican cuisine, but sometimes I cook german food. If you prefer, you can also use the kitchen and cook something for yourself. We like to learn new recipes.
    A minimum of a two week stay is expected. Longer stays are possible.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Independent room with two double beds and private bathroom. You are welcome to share the mainhouse with us. You don’t need to bring anything with you, besides your personal cosmetics and clothes. You will have free WiFi access.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many possibilities for hiking and sightseeing in our región but you should be good on feet if hiking! Public transportation (bus) takes you into the next largest town (Tulancingo) in a 2 hours drive. From there on you have conncections all over the country. The same applys to direct conection by bus to Mexico City. This bus only leaves once a day.
    Sometimes we will take you for a trip to show you arround and to see some interesting places.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our Internet connection is somewhat slow. About 2.7 Mb. But normally we can see streaming videos (Netflix), Amazon etc. We have to limit the number of devices which can be connected simultaneously. We had already a workawayer, who has been working, teaching english, for ablout 2 month.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Inside our garden. We have 15 000 m2 fenced land.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, Monday through Friday

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 167761414561