Help with gardening and natural building in the Mountains near Samaipata

Country

Bolivia

Favourited 919 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    38  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi we are David, Melanie, our 3 kids(18, 2, 0) and Lina!

    We are a nice little patchwork family living in the mountains of Samaipata.

    The place is located in the Bolivian mountains at an altitude of 1800 meters above sea level and 6 km outside of the village Samaipata. We live on about 7ha land, where a big part is left naturally and forest. There is a little waterfall with climbing wall, fruit trees and a panoramic view to the mystic pre-inca ruins “El Fuerte”. We strive a life in harmony with Nature. Our houses are built mostly with natural materials like mud bricks with straw and wood from our forest. We produce and sell organic mandarin juice and home-brewed beer. “Fuerte Bräu” and the juice “Liquid Sunshine” is sold at the nice Pub at the main square in the village.
    We are one of the few places where you don’t have to pay for labor. We reward effort and motivation with rich vegan food, knowledge sharing and nice accommodation in private rooms (a rebuilt truck, a tower and a room). According to feedback from our previous volunteers the pure vegetable based food was a delicious and inspiring experience.

    Our electricity is only from solarpower (thats why it is limited to the kitchen and workshop so its good to bring a torch) and our hot water as well (hot shower during the day).

    Depending on the season and the projects which are running the work also changes.
    Sometimes there is more building where we try to use as much natural materials as possible (although not entirely like foundation) like mud bricks, straw and wood- so far we have a few houses, a tower with sauna, a workshop and a new kitchen and always more ideas.

    Another big part is our garden. We try to use different permacultur methods (like hot compost) but it is still a lot of learning by doing and trying for us as well.

    Also since we are selling beer and juice and reusing the bottles, we always have to wash bottles on a regular basis.

    The working hours depend on the weather. Sometimes on a sunny day we work more then 5 hours, but if the weather is bad it can also be less.

    Since it became really important to some people nowadays to use internet regularly we want to inform you, that we don't have it here - no WiFi. We can use the internet on our phones which is quit expensive. So for a really important message we can make a Hotspot but if you need more, it is really easy in Bolivia to get a phonecard with internet for 10 or 20 bolivianos which works here on the mountain (the company is called Entel)

    Please contact us when you know when you will be in Samaipata (maximum 1 month before). The minimum stay is 14 days.

    Because our internet is very slow, it can take a while until we answer. So please be patient or call us directly.

    We look forward to your visit

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    The main work changes depending on the season and the projects we have started.
    Gardening, building, maintenance of the land, washing bottles.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Spanish, Austrian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Nice accommodation in private room (up to 3 people), camping caravan (up to 2 people), tower in a room and a deck on the second floor.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 5 hours, 5 days per week

the goal was to build a sauna...it ended up to be a 6 meter hight tower!
building the volunteer-room



























Host ref number: 647895236757