Stay near Tomar, Portugal and help with keeping my garden and more under control



Favourited 127 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
  • Description


    Dear Workaways
    This is the third up-date on my introduction to you coming to help me keep the garden and the land looking good and productive.
    In early 2015 I did not know what a workaway was, since then I have met many, enjoying their company and the transformation they have created here in Carril.
    Martin was the ground breaker, who came for a week but was here for six months and set to return but has been diverted as his partner is now expecting their baby. Martin started remaking many aspects of the garden and the outbuildings, which has allowed the improvements to become more and more interesting with further help from others from Australia, Nederland, Germany, England, Estonia, Nigeria, Brazil and Ireland.
    All your fellow workaways seemed to have enjoyed my cooking and some interesting long conversations, stories about filmmaking and music. I have enjoyed their company and some interesting food from cakes made from sweet corn from Brazil, many breads from Germany, great soups and desserts from Estonia – you are increasing my knowledge in many areas – thank you.
    I need the land improvements to be maintained and to go further. Tiiu has got the vegetables planted, fruit trees ordered and now the vines have started to regrow, so hopefully later in the year we will be making wine along with the olives and the oranges. Some of the grapes grow in a long avenue which is going to be the “Workaway Walk” where everyone’s name is going to be part of the path – so get here soon so your names can be part of the design.
    During the summer the heating of the house is going over from oil to bio mass so the wood after the harvest of the Eucalyptus can be part of the plan to “Shake the Sheiks” by not using fossil fuels.
    So whatever you want to do I should be able to use. I prefer people to come for longer than two weeks and during the summer my two children (11 & 8) will be here.
    So I look forward to welcoming more people to this wonderful part of Central Portugal to understand the culture, history, beautiful scenery, interesting castles and the coast which is an hour away and have some fun – Sarah the dog will also love to see you.
    But enough from me, here is what Martin thought and seems to be what most people who come here say:
    The food is great here, Barry is a great cook, he cooks very well and is always inviting people to British Sunday Lunches, which go on for every. He even cooks brilliant vegetarian food. He also does not stop talking, very interestingly, about working in the film industry where he ran little companies, big companies, directed a lot of famous film people and music stars, even worked with world leaders!
    The house is very comfortable and the dog is very friendly. The work is very varied although he says it is gardening. Well it is a lot more.
    There is a large garden with grass (most of it is really weeds) which surrounds a swimming pool which I have learnt to clean – so I am now a pool boy too!
    There is a herb garden which is now looking good, there are about 40 olive trees which will be ready to pick from October onwards, which we are looking to have our own pressing, which should produce 50 litres.
    Over from the house there is more land where I am trying to resurrect some old vines for making wine(Note: He and others have made this very possible. Barry) growing more vegetables and picking lots of oranges and lemons, whose juice we freeze.
    I am also helping to make some buildings so they can be habitable after many years of neglect. Also watching how fast the trees and everything grows!
    This area of Portugal is very beautiful, the house is on a hill and you can see a very long distance. There is a long lake nearby which is very clean as it is part of the water supply for Lisbon which is 100km away. The sea is about an hour’s drive away and the coast is stunning but the seas are big.
    Barry has shown me many places near-by from big markets and the fascinating castle in Tomar where the Knights Templars had their very impressive castle. We have been to many places including Lisbon, which Barry seems to know well.
    He has a lot of friends around and is always having interesting ideas,
    I hope you enjoy it as much as I. I am even looking for a place to convert into a home in this area, the Portuguese around here are very nice and friendly. Look forward to seeing you soon.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • Help


    The garden is mainly grass with olive trees, oranges, lemons and cherries. There is a small herb garden and flowers and shrubs around the swimming pool.

    If vegetable growing was wanted then there is more land over the road about 4 hectares (10 acres) of trees.

    There is a motor mower and bush cutters.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    The house is on top of a hill with far ranging views. It has central heating, two bathrooms, if there are two of you and you did not want to share then you could have separate rooms.
    The children are here during holidays: girl 8, boy 11.
    There is a very friendly dog.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a small town nearby, which is visited most days for shopping and meals etc.

    Within 20 minutes is Tomar where the Knights Templar's ruled Portugal from, which has an interesting castle from the 12th century, many shops and has some fun bits.

    Lisbon can be reached in about an hour, there is swimming in a nearby lake and the sea is about 40 miles away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 897913948574